Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Review for Hartville/ASPCA


8/10   Purchasing Peace of Mind
I had this coverage on my Lab/Chow mix, Angel, for ten years. The renewal premiums always seemed reasonable to me for the coverage provided. I was purchasing peace of mind. If there was an accident, or when she was hospitalized for two weeks with pancreatitis at the end, I knew that at least some portion of my expenses would be recovered. I submitted several claims over the years, including two ACL surgeries, and felt that the reimbursement rates were fair. If I could suggest a change to the coverage, it would be in the pre-existing clause. If your pet is diagnosed with some illness and/or injury, when your policy renews, it is then considered a pre-existing condition and there is no further coverage for that issue. Overall, I had a positive experience with the coverage, and would purchase it again.
Company: Hartville/ASPCA   Injury/Illness: multiple   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
CBarnes, 9/3/2010
Was this review helpful to you?      
 


Patty says:

5/10/2017
I had APSCA Pet Insurance since 2011. When I had to file a claim for my dog's surgery and eye infection, somehow, both conditions were either pre existing or hereditary. Highly unsatisfied.  
 
Vince says:

12/17/2015
I have has ASPCA Pet Insurance for 8 years for my black lab mix. In her first 3 years she tore both ACL's and one had to be redone for 3 surgeries. The Insurance saved me thousands of dollars. This is not a perfect insurance plan. I don't think one exists, but I am generally happy with it. I have found that if I FAX the claim forms, I receive my reimbursement checks much faster than if I mail them in. MUCH faster! My dog was just diagnosed with arthritis in her hip. I have level 3 coverage so if I am reading correctly, she should still be covered in continuing care. If not, I will be very angry.  
 
Shannon says:

12/1/2014
Actually they have a "continuing care option" that does cover conditions from previous years. Totally worth having! 
 
Shannon says:

1/31/2014
Do not get coverage from ASPCA for your animal. I had gotten the best they offered to ensure my dog would be covered for everything especially if I had to deploy, I didn't want to add the cost of care to my family. Reason: My dog had injured her leg one morning and when I realized this was not going to get better on it's own I took her in to the Vet and gave an approximation of when the injury happened. The approximate date happen to be at the end of the last plan period. Therefore, ASPCA Pet Insurance deemed the injury was under the old plan period and was therefore not covered. My main concern was it took several months for different vets to finally determine what the injury was and how to fix it. I brought this up to ASPCA because they still would not have covered it because the initial injury happened in the previous plan. ASPCA does not allow for an observation time by either the owner or the Vet. Not every diagnosis can happen on a deadline. Don't get this coverage - save your money.  
 
Savi says:

6/18/2013
That is plain ridiculous. In joy and jubilation I placed AKC PET PARTNERS on my new puppy, $13K Annual Policy Limits, "The Gold Standard, NOT!" 80% reimb, $125 An/Deduc; and SURPRISE .. $5,000 LIFETIME CAP/incident/including LYMPHOMA .. $13K over 2 yrs. Would "people insurance" get away with it? No Way! This is a rip off; "pre-existing exclusion" for an ailment/injury occuring in a premium year????? 
 
HM says:

1/22/2013
I Would NEVER recommend ASPCA Insurance. If you are considering it, SHOP some more. In all the years I have had them for my mini Schnauzer and all the claims I have sent in.they have covered only $292. I would be better off Banking the money and putting it into a savings account for him. They automatically renew your policy and charge you I believe its $10 more for the renewal process that first month?? I just recently submitted 2 claims one for excessive sneezing which I thought oh he has a cold, turned out to be a sinus infection He got antibiotics.So that office visit was $93.36 Then 10 days later he started having head tremors and we were back at the vet, blood tests and office visit later $340.. Not covered?? WHAT? Neither visit was covered. IT takes forever for them to process a claim as well. They manipulate the vets wording to fit their non coverage mold. BE VERY CAREFUL. I will be cancelling this insurance, they have gotten ENOUGH of my money. Good luck and I wish all of your pets Much Health.. 
 
HM says:

1/22/2013
I Would NEVER recommend this Insurance. If you are considering it, SHOP some more. In all the years I have had them for my mini Schnauzer and all the claims I have sent in.they have covered only $292. I would be better off Banking the money and putting it into a savings account for him. They automatically renew your policy and charge you I believe its $10 more for the renewal process that first month?? I just recently submitted 2 claims one for excessive sneezing which I thought oh he has a cold, turned out to be a sinus infection He got antibiotics.So that office visit was $93.36 Then 10 days later he started having head tremors and we were back at the vet, blood tests and office visit later $340.. Not covered?? WHAT? Neither visit was covered. IT takes forever for them to process a claim as well. They manipulate the vets wording to fit their non coverage mold. BE VERY CAREFUL. I will be cancelling this insurance, they have gotten ENOUGH of my money. Good luck and I wish all of your pets Much Health.. 
 
Maddy says:

6/11/2012
For the first year I thought it was a great insurance plan. My Berner than developed psychomotor seizures which are manifested by changes in a dog's behavior. I appears that the ASPCA cannot diffentiate the two. All but the Phenobarbital medications are rejected as "behavior meds". They also do not pay 80 % of visits if your dog needs a specialist. You get 80% of what the dog regular vet would charge. Big difference there. Molly's seizure care reimbursement will run out when I reach $1500. I doubt if Mol get cystitis again that they will cover that because it will be a "pre-existing" condition. Molly is only 20 months old so I am looking at continuing specialist vet care that I will have to pay out. I paid $200 total deductibles for my Plan 3 care this year + approx 52/mo. Now I get to pay for all but one med and most of her specialist care. Is there something wrong with this picture? 
 
Vicki Duvall says:

5/29/2012
I have been very satisfied with ASPCA pet insurance and would refer to anyone with a pet it does help with costly vet bills and a peace of mind to no that your animal can have a healthy life. 
 
Carla says:

5/16/2012
Yes, it's frustrating to try and compare apples to kiwis to anchovies, with insurance plans. Remember they are in the gambling business - they exist to make money off the odds of your pet getting sick. I used to be a CSR for human medical policies. Watch out for lowballing when you ask for quotes - I typically see substandard ("base") coverage listed and contrasted to the better, more costly version ("average cost") of competition. So I am still shopping! I'm not sure deductible per incident is a good thing for those on fixed income, though. Could be ugly in a crisis if they said each problem had to pay separately, say, in a dog attack, your pet gets 1)bitten, 2)goes int shock, 3) anemic from blood loss and needs transfusion, 4) got sepsis after injury repair surgery. So would there be 4 deductibles? Or one? 
 
Lorna Blechynden says:

3/21/2012
I too have just be burned by ASPCA pet insurance due to the "plan period" which starts new each year and old conditions are no longer covered. I have two other animals insured with Trupanion and I cannot recommend them highly enough. They don't pull any of that garbage. Check them out! They are fantastic! 
 
Doug says:

2/12/2012
Erich, I believe you are correct in that the per-incident deductible with PetPlan is paid once each policy term per condition if it is something that carries over into subsequent policy terms. ASPCA just rolled out new policies that now cover on-going conditions automatically instead of making this coverage optional. The coverage is limited compared to some of the other companies. 
 
zara says:

12/31/2011
So glad aspca took time to reply a wordy response that basically says when your plan renews they offer several other plans to choose for illness they now call preexisting nice effort to make you feel less riiped off 
 
M Arias says:

11/15/2011
Easy, affordable and it gives you peace of mind. The claim processing is quick and easy too. 
 
Erich Riesenberg says:

9/23/2011
I have had PetPlan also and believe Pam's comment below is incorrect: "So if I pay my deductible for an arthritic right shoulder, for example, its paid for that condition of the life of the dog." Per PetPlan's web site: "Your per-condition deductible is the fixed dollar amount per illness or injury that you are responsible for (per policy year) after your chosen reimbursement level is applied to a claim. For example if you have to take your pet to the vet multiple times for the same condition within a policy year, you will only be responsible for paying the deductible once." I think all insurers charge the deductible each policy term. Some insurers such as PetPlan do charge a deductible per incident, while Embrace charges per year. 
 
Randy says:

8/19/2011
After reseaching ALL AVAILABLE pet insurers ASPCA is the very LAST insurer that I would consider. It is bordering on the criminal to consider conditions prior to the current renewal period as "pre-existing". That's more than outrageous, it's hateful and SHOULD be illegal. In the past I donated to ASPCA. When I discovered the terms and conditions in their pet insurance policy I demanded to be taken off their mailing list and I would NEVER donate another dime to the ASPCA. There are many other pet charity organizations that are truly honest instead of having their "Sleazy Branch" as ASPCA does by promoting this disgraceful insurance plan. 
 
Anissa says:

8/2/2011
I was moved to purchase pet insurance after a heart breaking experience with our Rottweiler, Penny. Two years ago, we woke up and found Penny in severe distress. We rushed her to an animal hospital, due to the fact that her vet was on vacation for the week. The test revealed that her bladder had ruptured due to stones. We had to pay the facility $4,000 on the spot for her treatment. We didn't have it, nor was the hospital willing to work out a payment plan to cover the cost. So, we were left with the decision to put her to sleep. That decision hurts us to this day. Penny was a wonderful dog and was supposed grow old with us. I will never be in that situation again, thanks to ASPCA pet insurance. 
 
Angela says:

7/9/2011
Thank you to everyone who took the time to comment. I am reviewing multiple pet policies at this time as I am in need of enrolling 3 dogs in healthcare - all the dogs at various ages (puppy, 5 and 8 years old) and it is of great concern to me that a condition diagnosed in one plan period would be considered pre-existing in the next. I will not enroll my pets in such a policy - thank you for the explanations and comments as these truly do help me in making my decisions. 
 
Timothy G Briody says:

7/9/2011
We had VPI dog insurance at first. But when our little guy started to get sick and nothing was covered without a waiting period, and the premiums we going up we decide to switch to ASPCA insurance. Since we switch we have been happy. Something are out of pocket expense which is normal and other things well, they have covered under the policy. ASPCA has save me a lot of money for all the injuries, and Illness that my dog has had for the last 6 yrs of his life. From a GI tract infection to his last injury of his eye. We are happy to have this insurance, and will recommend this to friends and family members.  
 
Gina says:

4/26/2011
My dog had growths as labs all get. In September, 2010 we had he looked at again, just to be sure they were all nothing to worry about, and once again, that's what my vet said. In Feb. 2011, we took our dog to an oncologist just for a second opinion, and low and behold, one of the six growths was a mast cell tumor (cancer). We went through all of the motions to have it surgically removed, and then submitted the paperwork for the $5,800 worth of diagnostic, testing and removal fees. That's when we found out that it wasn't covered because the growth was present in the previous plan year, even though they were not diagnosed to be worrisome. I had no idea that the presence of a growth termed by my vet as "nothing to worry about" in our dog's file would pre-empt us from reimbursement for treatment when it actually turned out to be cancer just a few months later, but not in the same calendar year that it was first looked at. After having said that, I want to also say that the claims people I spoke with were very compassionate and extremely customer-service focused in speaking with me and dealing with the situation. There was nothing any of us could do because its just the way the policy is written. I could appeal their decision, but the policy is still going to say what it says and Sept. 2010 is clearly in my 2010 policy year and Feb. 2011 is clearlyl in my 2011 policy year - and its been less than 18 months since the growth was recorded in my dog's file. So be it. I'm counting my blessings - my dog is cancer free! I just know better for the future.  
 
Barbara says:

4/5/2011
You may also want to note that ASPCA policy is a 6 month policy, and if something was covered once, it would be pre-existing in the renewal. I agree with any company that won't cover pre-existing condition when you sign up, but this company takes it to the extreme. In addition to pre-existing conditions, you may also want to review how the benefits are paid. ASPCA uses "reasonable and customary" when they determine what they will pay. If they don't get you with pre-existing, your benefit will be reduced substantially with the R & C clause.  
 
Andre says:

3/1/2011
My experience with ASPCA health insurance was horrible and I just cancelled my policy, because they never paid a single dollar of my pet's costs, always requesting additional information, then once they get the information, they ask for more.  
 
Kristen at Hartville says:

2/17/2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. The way our pet insurance works is that ongoing conditions, which are injuries or illnesses that initially show symptoms in one plan period and need care after your plan renews, are not covered by our base coverage. If the condition is curable, it may be covered 180 days after cure and last treatment. We offer a Continuing Care coverage option with Levels 2, 3 and 4 that offers protection for long-term or chronic conditions. In some states, we offer Enduring Care, which includes coverage for ongoing conditions. We think our Continuing Care option is the best way to cover these conditions because it offers separate, straightforward coverage for treatments that are needed over multiple plan years. If you have any questions about your plan, please call us at 1-866-204-6764 so we can help.  
 
Pam says:

2/14/2011
Yes, that is outrageous. PetPlanUS covers a condition if detected after you sign on, for the life of the dog as long as you keep up the coverage. Also their deductible relates to the condition, (versus an annual deductible) So if I pay my deductible for an arthritic right shoulder, for example, its paid for that condition of the life of the dog. its important to notice if deductibles are per incident, per condition or if they are due each year for the same condition. 
 
Julie says:

11/17/2010
Yes, thanks for pointing that out, how outrageous! I will look into my insurance more carefully now. 
 
Ester says:

11/10/2010
I just recently purchased pet insurance for peace of mind also...and I totally agree with you, pre-existing condition should be included especially if you have had pet insurance all along and have been paying for all those years! Some times we read and we read and miss things, thank you for pointing this out. 
 




Comment on this Review

Your Name
Comment
Enter the characters below