Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for

Add a Review


Filter By:    


10/10   I am very gratefull to Nationwide Insurance
I have had pet insurance for the past 18 years on my beloved Billy. During that period I had three major disasters that I don't know what I would have done if it weren't for Nationwide. When Billy was 13 he needed Knee surgery which was very costly and Nationwide stood by us and paid their portion of the claim. When Billy was 16 he had Vestibular Syndrome. We had to take him to the Emergency ward and the cost was extremely expensive. Nationwide took on quite a bit of the burden. And lastly when Billy was 18 he developed incurable Cancer and unfortunately passed away. The last few days I the emergency hospital was very expensive but not only did Nationwide help us pay part of the bill, they returned the premium for that period. I am truly grateful. I now have a new puppy and after looking at other alternatives. I chose Nationwide, since I feel that they are the best.
Injury/Illness: Several as explained above   Breed: Norwegian Buhund
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Mario Fusco, 12/18/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Nationwide Has been Great for me and my dog
Nationwide I have used since I bought my insurance. My insurance agent who handles my medical insurance for our our company recommended Nationwide.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Goldendoodle
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Guy, 12/16/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Feel relieved knowing I have Nationwide Pet Ins.
I got the Major Medical Coverage after my few month old kitty broke his paw. Now a couple years later I have two cats (a two year old and a 6 month old). I made sure to have insurance for both of them just in case anything happens. I have submitted a claim every time I went to the vet for any reason. They respond with a friendliness and thorough explanation if it is not covered. So make sure to read what is included and what is not! All and all I am greatful for Nationwide Pet Insurance and will continue using them for my kitties!! :)
Injury/Illness: ear problem eye problem   Breed: Domestic Mediumhair
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Megan E Klemm, 12/16/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Wonderful Experience
When we brought home our golden doodle pup at 9 weeks old a friend who had a one year old puppy told us we should invest in dog insurance. She had not done so and was already out of pocket over $1,500 in the first year. We decided to invest in the insurance and thank goodness we did. Our pup got very sick after she was spayed and we found out she was born with two under developed kidneys. She has been diagnosed with renal dysplasia and may not live past 3 yrs old. As sad as this is we have been very grateful for Nationwide. They have been beyond amazing. Our claims are reviewed within 3 days and a check is sent within 10 days. I even get an email once in a while to ask how Curry is doing. Well I think I personally need this dog insurance as my medical health insurance does not care one bit about me. I have told everyone I know about this company and referred all my friends to Nationwide. I was so worried upon the first renewal that Curry would not be eligible for another year of insurance but this was not the case...we are into our second year.
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney)   Breed: Goldendoodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Linda, 12/15/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Fantastic Insurance - so happy to have
I had heard horror stories from people about the lack of coverage pet insurance really provides and wanted to make sure we were getting something that would work. I researched and compared a lot of pet insurance companies and in the end Nationwide came out on top. They were the only company that covered preventative care (via the Wellness Plan) with a lower deductible and high percentage of coverage. We knew that we'd meet the deductable with basic exams, vaccines, and flea meds and anything random would be covered. Unfortunately for our pup, and us, we put it to the test when she tore her ACL. ACL repair is not easy and it's really expensive. We moved forward with the surgery crossing our fingers that Nationwide would cover what we expected them to cover. It took some time for them to review her records and make the final decision (that was the worst part), but in the end they covered thousands of dollars - from the diagnostic x-rays, surgery, meds, and the follow up x-rays. We couldn't be happier with the coverage and experience. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a pet insurance carrier.
Injury/Illness: ACL Tear   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Helen, 12/14/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
7/10   Seems okay so far
We were insured through VPI which is now Nationwide for us. So far the insurance policies seem similar. We live in Silicon Valley and maybe care is more expensive here. The insurance covers a portion of our expenses, but is still helpful to us. When I had VPI, there was an upgrade option for more coverage, which would cost more per month as well. When I spoke with Nationwide this was not available. VPI also had a discount program with PetPlus.com and I'm not sure if Nationwide has that too. It's a great place to buy pet medications. I'll have to ask them about it.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Denise, 12/12/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Well worth it!
I've had VPI for a little over a year and it's been great. My dog has had a few incidents that were well over $500. I've gotten over a thousand dollars back in reimbursements from the insurance. Definitely worth the $25/month I spend!
Injury/Illness: Cut, bite,   Breed: Boxer
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Lizzy Ostro, 12/10/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/10   Easy to work with Nationwide for this claim only
My tiny 4lb Chihuahua had a bad infection caused by bad teeth. I adopted her when she was 4. She is 8 now. I took her to the dentist and he discovered that one of the K9s had to be extracted because it caused the infection. It also affected several other teeth and they had to be extracted as well. Plus cleaning of the remaining teeth. The bill came up to $980 and Nationwide only covered half of it. It helped but I hoped for more. After that claim was closed I asked how much they would cover for knee surgery on both rear legs. My dog developed luxating patellas as she got older. In order to get this procedure done before she gets to old or the patellas get worth, she needs this surgery. It is not a pre-existing issue, it developed within the last 8 month. When I asked I was told that they do not cover this kind of surgery since it is a common problem with Chihuahuas. So .... why am I paying insurance every month??? I am thinking of canceling my policy.
Injury/Illness: Dental infection   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Angelika Gebhardt, 12/10/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3


Review review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close