Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for

Add a Review


Filter By:    


10/10   I am very gratefull to Nationwide Insurance
I have had pet insurance for the past 18 years on my beloved Billy. During that period I had three major disasters that I don't know what I would have done if it weren't for Nationwide. When Billy was 13 he needed Knee surgery which was very costly and Nationwide stood by us and paid their portion of the claim. When Billy was 16 he had Vestibular Syndrome. We had to take him to the Emergency ward and the cost was extremely expensive. Nationwide took on quite a bit of the burden. And lastly when Billy was 18 he developed incurable Cancer and unfortunately passed away. The last few days I the emergency hospital was very expensive but not only did Nationwide help us pay part of the bill, they returned the premium for that period. I am truly grateful. I now have a new puppy and after looking at other alternatives. I chose Nationwide, since I feel that they are the best.
Injury/Illness: Several as explained above   Breed: Norwegian Buhund
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Mario Fusco, 12/18/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   I love Nationwide
I know everyone has different experiences, but for me, Nationwide was a lifesaver. My dog, Harper, was hit by a car. $4,000, nationwide paid all but $400.00. Then he needed physical therapy $700.00, I paid $70.00. He even went to a behaviorist $400.00 I paid $40.00. I always get my money within 7-10 days. I tell everyone who will listen about nationwide. There are some cheaper (Not many) but I feel safe with them and don't have to worry about Harper. In the last year, I used my nationwide insurance at least 10 times. I'm satisfied. I've been compensated by nationwide for my honest review
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
sandra roth, 12/16/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Nationwide Has been Great for me and my dog
Nationwide I have used since I bought my insurance. My insurance agent who handles my medical insurance for our our company recommended Nationwide.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Goldendoodle
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Guy, 12/16/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Awesome Pet Insurance
First of all I am a licensed insurance broker in California. The product that Nationwide offer for pet insurance is superior over all of the other companies I looked at prior to buying coverage. The claim process is quick and easy to say the least. I've been compensated by Nationwide for my honest review
Injury/Illness: Broken Leg   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Dean M., 12/16/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Feel relieved knowing I have Nationwide Pet Ins.
I got the Major Medical Coverage after my few month old kitty broke his paw. Now a couple years later I have two cats (a two year old and a 6 month old). I made sure to have insurance for both of them just in case anything happens. I have submitted a claim every time I went to the vet for any reason. They respond with a friendliness and thorough explanation if it is not covered. So make sure to read what is included and what is not! All and all I am greatful for Nationwide Pet Insurance and will continue using them for my kitties!! :)
Injury/Illness: ear problem eye problem   Breed: Domestic Mediumhair
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Megan E Klemm, 12/16/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   So happy I have Nationwide Insurance for my dog
My dog Riley is a Doberman. He is a sweet rescue. Thank God I decided to get insurance. Recently my Doberman started walking funny. They say he hurt his neck and his discs are pinching his spinal cord. He is in a lot of pain. The appointment with xrays was quite expensive. Nationwide received my claim and processed promptly. It was within 2 weeks of my claim that I received my check for the portion they pay. I had to call the customer service to ask a question about coverage. The service rep was extremely courteous and helpful. I have recommended Nationwide to my friends. I've been compensated by Nationwide for my honest review.
Injury/Illness: Neck injury   Breed: Doberman
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Deborah Wagner, 12/15/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Excellent Insurance
We have been dealing with Nationwide (VPI) for at least 9 years. After owning 2 cats and knowing the expense for pets when they sick I got pet insurance for our dog Bella within weeks of owning her. I choose Nationwide (VPI)because it was the highest rated. Now my dog has cancer and has needed surgery and is undergoing chemo, not to mention having two teeth pulled, radiographs, x-rays and biopsies. I am so happy to say Bella is doing great now, she is so perky and alive and we hope her truly improved quality of life will continue. Nationwide sure has done its share, picking between 70- 80% of the cost and always being available over the phone to discuss various benefits of our policy and the status of submitted claims. The representative is always very empathetic and helpful (even if it is not exactly the answer I am looking for). Nationwide has truly been a financial partner in this ordeal and over the 9 years we have owned this insurance. Nationwide consistently pays for itself. Never have I had to argue my case this is really pet health insurance that covers a lot of expenses. I offered to provide this recommendation and have been telling everyone I know that pet insurance is a must. Of course it is best to buy it when you first get your pet. So I (and my dog) are very happy with Nationwide and urge everyone to consider buying pet insurance. I would not own a pet without it. Yes: "I've been compensated by Nationwide for my honest review" but I would write this without compensation and the compensation $5 is really more of a thank you than an incentive.
Injury/Illness: eye problem cancer   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Marsha, 12/15/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Excellent Insurance
We have been dealing with Nationwide (VPI) for at least 9 years. After owning 2 cats and knowing the expense for pets when they sick I got pet insurance for our dog Bella within weeks of owning her. I choose Nationwide (VPI)because it was the highest rated. Now my dog has cancer and has needed surgery and is undergoing chemo, not to mention having two teeth pulled, radiographs, x-rays and biopsies. I am so happy to say Bella is doing great now, she is so perky and alive and we hope her truly improved quality of life will continue. Nationwide sure has done its share, picking between 70- 80% of the cost and always being available over the phone to discuss various benefits of our policy and the status of submitted claims. The representative is always very empathetic and helpful (even if it is not exactly the answer I am looking for). Nationwide has truly been a financial partner in this ordeal and over the 9 years we have owned this insurance. Nationwide consistently pays for itself. Never have I had to argue my case this is really pet health insurance that covers a lot of expenses. I offered to provide this recommendation and have been telling everyone I know that pet insurance is a must. Of course it is best to buy it when you first get your pet. So I (and my dog) are very happy with Nationwide and urge everyone to consider buying pet insurance. I would not own a pet without it. Yes: "I've been compensated by Nationwide for my honest review" but I would write this without compensation and the compensation $5 is really more of a thank you than an incentive.
Injury/Illness: eye problem cancer thyroid   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Marsha, 12/15/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4


Review review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close