Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Embrace
Petplan USA
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Trupanion

Add a Review

Visit Website

Filter By:    


10/10   Best insurance and care for your pet available!
Trupanion is an honest and very straight forward type of insurance. All you need to know is presented on the website in plain language without a maze of difficult to understand and confusing jargon. It's easy to sign up for and the flexibility in choice of coverage and premiums makes it affordable for all. I know people say 'just put away monthly that same amount you'd be spending on premiums and you'll be covered'. I can honestly say that is likely not going to happen (we all have expenses to cover) and the unfortunate costs of vet bills will always exceed the amount you can put away. There is another (among many) very important reason to get your pet family members insured. When you show up frantic (and most likely crying) at the vet clinic or hospital with your pet in an emergent state, the staff will begin to care for your pet immidiately when you tell them you are with Trupanion. Otherwise you have to wait for the exam and the scary estimate before you make the very large deposit and the work ensues. I can honestly say as a pet owner and a human emergency nurse, that is precious time you sometimes can't afford. The weight lifted off our hearts knowing our dogs very expensive treatment was going to be mostly covered and not having to extend our debt in an already very sad situation was literally priceless. She is now well and thriving after a very bleak diagnosis and initial expectation she wouldn't make it (more than once actually). Only because of the Trupanion care was our little Stella able to receive superb care. We have also learned how extensive veterinary medicine is, and how much potential there is for huge number of conditions to be treated. Lastly, the staff at Trupanion have ALWAYS been caring, compassionate and immidiately available. Human insurance companies could learn A LOT from these guys. I am truly grateful for this service and believe me, we pay the highest premium, by choice, and it is entirely worth it. We've done the math!
Injury/Illness: Granulomatous meningoencephalitis   Breed: Jack Russell Terrier
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Karolina Gruhs, 3/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   There is none better than Trupanion
Trupanion has come through for our Bloodhound all year. He has had allergies, heart issues and multiple surgeries and they have paid all the claims without hesitation
Injury/Illness: heart, allergies   Breed: Bloodhound
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Heather Richards, 3/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Lifesaver! The dogs and mine!
One of the best decisions I have made in my life! My sweet Ella is still with me after one full year of illness. Although the outcome is grim, I can give her the best treatment that I otherwise could not afford. Her monthly maintenance is in excess of $700.00. I am such a grateful believer in Trupanion that I have two other dogs also insured by Trupanion. I would recommend this company to everyone. I never have to make "that dreaded decision " based on the fact that I couldn't afford it. I will make that decision based solely on her quality of life! I owe her that!
Injury/Illness: Copper storage disease and chronic hepatitis   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Jill King, 3/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Outstanding Product
I did a lot of research before buying pet insurance and this company seemed to stand out head and shoulders above the rest.Unfortunately our dog has many ongoing illnesses that he needs medication for and has had one major operation that we might not have been able to otherwise afford. After our $500 deductible was payed Trupanion has payed for 90% of all our medical expenses according to the terms of our policy. There have never been any problems or issues of contention and any dealings I have had with their customer service reps have been met with friendly courtesy and with a sincere desire to help. This is a fantastic product and I can't think of a single thing this company could be doing better.
Injury/Illness: ear problem skin problem thyroid Epilepsy   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Mike Vogel, 3/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Trupanion is the best
90% reimbursement for a low monthly premium. Its a no brainer. If you are going to have a pet, they are going to get sick sometime over their life. It will happen. There are going to be accidents, illnesses, and diseases. The monthly payment is worth knowing that you can get whatever treatment is needed when that time comes. I have already been able to provide a $4000 emergency surgery for one cat and recewntly ongoing care for kidney disease for another. Trupanion was fast to process claims and reimbursements. My vet has a direct hookup to Trupanion so I only have to pay the 10% copay and they bill Trupanion directly for the rest. As a comparison, a few years ago before I realized the importance of health insurance for pets: my cat was diagnosed with kidney disease and another with liver cancer within four months of each other. Before it was all done we had spent $7000 on vet bills. We could have spent $700 if we had Trupanion. That's what sold me.
Injury/Illness: bladder renal (kidney)   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Brandee, 3/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Top Notch!
I have a 9 pound Morkie who keeps getting into things and causing issues with his GI tract. Trupanion is amazing with quickly responding and reimbursing my claims. Their customer service staff are always very caring and concerned when I contact them with a question. I truly feel like they care about my pet.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Janine, 3/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Reliable
We took our cat to the Toronto Emergency Clinic for severe vomiting, dehydration and systemic infection. The doctors were wonderful and Trupanion was a life saver. They are available 24-7. They have excellent communication skills and very efficient with claim reimbursements.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Tina Zlicar, 3/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   What a relief to have Trupanion!
My 14 month old competition dog came up lame. She ended up needing shoulder surgery, and now rehabilitative services. Trupanion was a real saving grace! Super easy to work with, amazing support staff and customer service... and the best part - super fast reimbursement!!
Injury/Illness: OCD of the shoulder   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Nancy Thornsbury, 3/17/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  74  75  76  77  78  79  80  81  82  83  84  85  86  87  88  89  90  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  98  99  100  101  102  103  104  105  106  107  108  109  110  111  112  113  114  115  116  117  118  119  120  121  122  123  124  125  126  127  128  129  130  131  132  133  134  135  136  137  138  139  140  141  142  143  144  145  146  147  148  149  150  151  152  153  154  155  156  157  158  159  160  161  162  163  164  165  166  167  168  169  170  171  172  173  174  175  176  177  178  179  180  181  182  183  184  185  186  187  188  189  190  191  192  193  194  195  196  197  198  199  200  201  202  203  204  205  206  207  208  209  210  211  212  213  214  215  216  217  218  219  220  221  222  223  224  225  226  227  228  229  230  231  232  233  234  235  236  237  238  239  240  241  242  243  244  245  246  247  248  249  250  251  252  253  254  255  256  257  258  259  260  261  262  263  264  265  266  267  268  269  270  271  272  273  274  275  276  277  278  279  280  281  282  283  284  285  286  287  288  289  290  291  292  293  294  295  296  297  298  299  300  301  302  303  304  305  306  307  308  309  310  311  312  313  314  315  316  317  318  319  320  321  322  323  324  325  326  327  328  329  330  331  332  333  334  335  336  337  338  339  340  341  342  343  344  345  346  347  348  349  350  351  352  353  354  355  356  357  358  359  360  361  362  363  364  365  366  367  368  369  370  371  372  373  374  375  376  377  378  379  380  381  382  383  384  385  386  387  388  389  390  391  392  393  394  395  396  397  398  399  400  401  402  403  404  405  406  407  408  409  410  411  412  413  414  415  416  417  418  419  420  421  422  423  424  425  426  427  428  429  430  431  432  433  434  435  436  437  438  439  440  441  442  443  444  445  446  447  448  449  450  451  452  453  454  455  456  457  458  459  460  461  462  463  464  465  466  467  468  469  470  471  472  473  474  475  476  477  478  479  480  481  482  483  484  485  486  487  488  489  490  491  492  493  494  495  496  497  498  499  500  501  502  503  504  505  506  507  508  509  510  511  512  513  514  515  516  517  518  519  520  521  522  523  524  525  526  527  528  529  530  531  532  533  534  535  536  537  538  539  540  541  542  543  544  545  546  547  548  549  550  551  552  553  554  555  556  557  558  559  560  561  562  563  564  565  566  567  568  569  570  571  572  573  574  575  576  577  578  579  580  581  582  583  584  585  586  587  588  589  590  591  592  593  594  595  596  597  598  599  600  601  602  603  604
Visit Website


Review Trupanion review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close