Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Review for Trupanion


10/10   Satisfied Customer
I had never purchased pet insurance for my previous pets and have experienced some very expensive vet bills throughout 30 years of dog ownership. I was asked to consider adopting a Yellow Lab whose owner had unexpectedly passed away and I felt that pet insurance would be a good investment. I had heard about Trupanion through PETCO. I went on line and read up on numerous plans and I felt, by far, Trupanion offered the best coverage. It didn't limit amounts for certain illnesses, etc. like the other plans and it was much easier to understand. You have $20,000 of lifetime coverage, excluding routine exam, vaccinations, and other items (like pre-existing conditions) that are clearly explained. There is a waiting period before coverage will be effective, but this is also explained (5 days accident, 30 days illness). During the second month of ownership, I noticed my dog was experiencing intermittent vomiting and a dry coat. Following bloodwork to rule out any potential cause for this problem, it was determined that he had a very low thyroid level. Once he was put on medication, they needed to re-test his thyroid in a month. I submitted my claims by fax (each invoice has to be submitted as a separate claim) and I received an e-mail confirmation from Trupanion that they had received my claim. My vet's office was contacted the next day to have his medical records faxed to Trupanion. I was also contacted to see if I had any past records from the previous owner.
Cathy, 4/28/2010
Was this review helpful to you?      
 


Joe says:

3/6/2017
We went to the vet 2 years ago when we moved. Our cat was not happy about the move and decided to pee wherever he wanted. Fast forward to last week, our cat (who is now well adjusted to our new home) was observed trying to pee but nothing was coming out and he was crying out in pain. We took him to the vet and a blockage was found. These crooks are calling it a "pre-existing condition". Really?!?! If they think this blockage was a pre-existing condition for over two years, they must have IQ's in the double digits. The cat would be dead in 3 days! What they're calling a pre-existing condition was actually a behavioral issue, not a medical issue that requires immediate medical attention. We pay $80/month just to get bent over by these crooks. What is the point???? 
 
Phyllis says:

1/25/2016
I have been with PetSecure for years. All things considered, my only complaint is that they are too damn slow getting my money back to me. If my own health insurance company can reimburse me within 3 days, surely these guys can do better than 20 days from the claim date. My deductible has gone up for my Great Dane who is now nine years old, but that's understandable, as we all get more expensive as we age. (It is now $300.00). Occasionally, my premium has gone up but then returned to a lower amount based on the number of incidents per calendar year. Trupanion sounds sneaky based on what I'm reading here.  
 
Marci says:

1/20/2016
I signed up for a Trupanion policy middle of November for our Rescue Puppy (not neutered), on Jan 2nd - not even 2 full months later - he ate an Advil tablet. Just one. The emergency vet kept him on an IV for 2 days at the hospital and gave him other inhibitor meds. After he came home we had to take him in for follow up bloodwork. Trupanion has paid all costs except taxes, deductible and the 10% co-insurance clause - which of course we knew of up front because we read the policy. Read your policy before signing up and you won't be expecting them to pay for something they clearly state that they don't. No policy will cover everything and yes, all insurance companies raise prices from time to time, just like any other business. If they don't make money, they go under. Simple economics. Oh, and I didn't even need to call them - I sent the claim in via email and they emailed me back stating they were reviewing the claim & medical records and would get back to me within a certain period of time. They emailed me the good news that he was covered & the breakdown of what they were paying. Everything added up and they were quick and efficient. :)  
 
Rick R says:

3/4/2015
Our Siberian Husky was listless and unsettled. We had him checked several times with our regular vet. He took a turn for the worse and we ended up taking him to the Emergency Vet Hospital. There they found out he had Acute Renal Failure ( kidneys failing ) and he had to undergo intensive therapy with over 5 nights stay in the ICU of the hospital. We paid our bill and the Emergency Hospital submitted our claim on our behalf. Trupanion responded by email that they had our claim and it was being processed. Two (2) days later, our claim was acknowledged and other than the taxes, deductible and ineligible exam, they paid out 90% of the claim as advertised. Over $6000.00. No Hassle, No Issues. Read your policies before you make a decision, when I was at the Hospital another 'parent' told me he had been cut off because he was 'over his limit' with his pet. Trupanion lives up to their advertising. No Limits. The 'per occurance' deductible is completely reasonable. If you can't afford to take your pet to the vet for basic care, maybe you need more than 'insurance' or maybe you should just pay for the $0 deductible. I am a VERY happy Trupanion client and my Siberian Husky is a very happy puppy too. P.S. We've had Trupanion since he was 8 months old. 
 
anthony says:

10/12/2014
I love Trupanion, they are great my dog passed cardiac arrest. They sent me a condolence card and paid my claim.what a company Trupanion for sure. 
 
Trupanion sucks says:

7/31/2013
Because my cat was a vomiter all his life, 2 years after signing up with these crooks - they told me they would not cover his cancer ... Because apparently some washed up failure at life pet insurance agent knows MORE about veterinarian medicine than our regular vet, internalist, and oncologist. The agent denied our claim because they call vomiting... in a cat... "a pre-existing condition." I think people who flip hamburgers for a living serve more of a purpose than these stains. 
 
Amanda says:

1/14/2013
I have been with trupanion for almost 4 years. I thought they were great, even with the increase of my monthly payment but it also decreased depending on where we were living. All has been good until my dog was diagnosed with pancreatic issues. Since he was at the vet at a young age with diarrhea ( which is common as far as I'm aware with puppie) they have decided to stop covering his pancreatic issues. Needless to say I am canceling if this doesn't get fixed cause I can just save the money I spend a month on his plan and put towards his treatments.  
 
Tracy k says:

6/2/2012
I have sent about 10 claims in the past 6 months for my dog and everyone was covered and paid within a week . The bills ranged from 150 to 3789 dollars . I've had trupanion since my dog was 7wks old she was spaded got her shots and I've done everything the vet reccomened and every time something happens its covered granted I wish they covered vet visits but other then that I love um  
 
Joe says:

4/15/2012
Agree with your comments. Deductible is per incident! I tried to cancel as I have had submitted a few bills but with the per incident deductible nothing got paid, the agent tried a guilt trip on me, then forgot to send me the cancellation email until I followed up. Long story short...go with an annual deductible, and a povider that covers a part of the vet fee and medication.  
 
Gary says:

4/14/2012
Do your homework very carefully before you sign up with trupanion read all the information and call before you commit. On their web site they state that they cover any illness 90% none pre existing and when you read everything the way they advertise it does make sense to go with this company. I did fell into their trap and sign up with them. After recieving my first month payment they send me my posicy confirmaton and the payment dates, however they also attached an 9 page PDA file stating all the exclusions and restrictions they have that they do not cover. Don't get fuled by their advertisement on their web site it is compleatly false and decieving they are ripping customers up by their false advertisement. In my case I had an vet bill for the amount of $900.00 dollars and after six phone calls and debating with different reps on the phone (real beuties) they finally only covering less than $190.00 dollats on that claim. I have gone as far as talking to the supervisors and it seems like you are dealing with the same personall just a different names and voices. Don't get ripped off and get sucked into this decieving company they are not what they claim to be they just want to get your money. Do your homework very carefully before you make commitment signing up with them I dumped them after three months and glad that I did before paying them years and years. Hope this will give you reason to investigate more indept before you make an commitment. 
 
Greg says:

4/11/2012
I have been with Trupanion for about 2.5 years and never had a problem. On the contrary, I've received superior service. Although the deductible is per incident, there is no incident, annual or lifetime maximum. My premium was raised once, but did not coincide with any claims. My 13.5 year old dog Mocha has arthritis and congestive heart failure. Monthy cost of prescription meds is almost $500, of which Trupanion reimburses 90% of ACTUAL (as opposed to the "allowed" BS!) costs on a very timely basis (usually 7-10 days). Also, they cover periodic bloodwork, urinalysis, x-rays, ultrasounds, etc. to monitor her kidneys, liver, etc. The only claim denial I've ever encountered was for supplements, which they state the do not cover. To me, using Trupanion is a no-brainer! 
 
Michelle says:

2/28/2012
Their deductable is per INCIDENT while most others are ANNUAL. Also didn't know dog has to be neutered to be covered until I read comments here. I am researching insurance now for my 8 month old and my 4 year old. Think I will be going with Pet Plan or Healthy Pet. They seem to have better coverage for better price. 
 
Colleen says:

2/1/2012
I was extremely unsatisfied with Trupanion's services. I submitted serveral claims and they consistently denied each an every claim. I had had pet insurance in the past through the Banfield clinic offered at PetSmart stores. Once I switched Vet offices, I learned a plethora of unneeded shots and medications were given to my dog in order to inflate the bills because I had that insurance (to make it look like they were saving me loads of money). Needless to say my dog's health improved as well as my bank account. Different dog over a decade later, I decided to try Trupanion (referred by Vet office). Do Not waste your money! Vet bills are outrageous enough without having to get ripped off by these insurance company's operating under the guise that they are there to help. It is all a greedy scam!  
 
Barbara says:

1/17/2012
I am very disappointed with Trupanion, I submitted a claim for my Mini Schnauzer who was attacked on Christmas Eve by another dog. We had to bring him to the ER and he received 3 stitches. I have had the plan for over a year and never submitted a claim, I called before I brought him in and they said something like this will be covered. About two days after I submitted my claim I received a denial from them stating that because my dog was not neutered they would not cover it. Although only a $300. vet bill, we were fully expecting them to cover at least a portion of it. I tried to have the claim overturned and they still denied it, stating that they have to stick to the policy regardless of what I was told on the phone that it would be covered. I have paid more into my premium than what we submitted and to no avail my claim was denied. When I read over my policy there is more that they don't cover than what they do cover. They told me this is a direct exclusion from any insurance company, but after doing my research other insurance companies will cover the dog being neutered something Trupanion won't cover even though it is required for most of your claims to be paid. Read your policy! I have cancelled my policy and I will find another one that will cover his neutering and preventative meds. Please please please do your homework before you start paying them for services they will not cover.  
 
michelle says:

1/17/2012
I have submitted two claims and neither one was ever paid. Glad i wasted money. They stated parvo wasn,t covered. Needless to say I am cancelling. 
 
D Fox says:

12/21/2011
I used my insurance for the first time last week, submitted my claim and in return my premium increase from $44.00 month to $77.00 per month. It was a small vet visit nothing seriously wrong. My dog is only 2 years old. Looking at other insurances right now! That's beyond outrageous! I haven't even been reimbursed fro the visit yet! It only took 24 hours for them to receive the fax from the vet and they raised her premiums. BYE BYE TRUPANION! 
 
Darlene says:

12/6/2011
they now do not cover the taxes on your claim but to me ta is part of your claim or not? seems to me they cover less and less and less 
 
Donna McCarthy says:

11/7/2011
I just spoke with Trupanion as I am debating between them and PetSecure for my 11 week old Shiloh Shephard. They confirmed with me that they have "No Payout Limits" I advised that I read reviews, like these that say they recently changed to $20,000. They said this is not true. As for raising their prices, they re-evaluate every year to 18 months and adjust Vet prices only. Don't believe all the reviews you read, call the Company and find out for yourself. 
 
Melissa says:

8/3/2011
FYI-Iris, they don't lie about never increasing your premium due to aging or the number of claims you submit. It is ONLY on the basis of the cost of veterinary medicine increasing. I thought the same thing you did until I read the policy info I received from them and called them directly... 
 
roxy says:

6/24/2011
i was very unhappy re: the claims that i submitted. Took too long and they lost the FAX. Not good - look elsewhere 
 
Shelley says:

6/15/2011
Trupanion does not raise premiums from pets aging. NO insurance company will stay in business without raising premiums when cost of vet medicine is getting so expensive. My dog had cancer which costs me thousands....trupanion paid 90% of all bills. Look at the competition, not only more expensive are the others, they don't cover as much! 
 
Iris says:

3/13/2011
The most expensive dog insurance I've known! They've increased my premium from $50/ month to $79/ month from one month to another because my dog was over 8 years old. Have been their customer for over 5 years and was disappointed to see they lied about " premiums won't increase due to pet aging" 
 
Andy says:

10/27/2010
Drew: Trupanion no longer has any lifetime limit. (They just changed to that this past summer.)  
 
Drew says:

10/9/2010
$20,000 lifetime limit? The brochure I recently received indicates: No Payout Limits (Per Incident, Per Year, or Lifetime) 
 
Mike says:

9/10/2010
I filed a $616 claim with Trupanion and recieved a check less then 1 week later. They really are easy to work with. 
 
anna says:

6/2/2010
was their reimbursement quick enough?  
 




Comment on this Review

Your Name
Comment
Enter the characters below