Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Embrace
Petplan USA
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Review for Petplan USA


10/10   Delivered as promised, easy, fast, polite
$3,800 reimbursement paid in just 2 weeks from our claim submission, on a $250 Silver plan ($200 deductible), for ACL surgery (TTA) on our dog's second hind knee, which some/many (most?) other pet insurance plans won't cover if the other leg has been previously repaired. 'Nuff said? Actually, it's not, here's more: - Very helpful customer service when I called in last fall to inquire and purchase - Very helpful customer service again when I called in to confirm PetPlan will cover ACL repair on the second leg - Easy claim forms, by email or fax - Great website for plan information and tracking claims Explains the #1 rating and Humane Society endorsement. I'm actively recommending PetPlan to all our pet owning friends, something I rarely do. Also, kudos to this website, which is where I think I originally discovered PetPlan, and based my purchase decision on the reviews here. I encourage everyone to post their reviews here as well, pro or con, and point your pet owning friends and family here as well.
Company: Petplan USA   Injury/Illness: ACL surgery (hind knee)   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Keith Laepple, 6/5/2010
Was this review helpful to you?      
 


Roman says:

3/8/2014
Petplan is the real deal! We have two dogs insured by Petplan for the past 4 years. I have never had ANY problem with a number of small claims. The past 5 months required 2 TPLO surgereis for our little girl Nika to fix torn ACL's. The first surgery was done to fix the right hind leg and a scope in her left front leg to remove a bone fragment. Total bill - $5,600. No issue, the claim was paid in less than two weeks. Two months later, her left ACL was torn. Total bill - $3,900. Again, Petplan came through and covered this surgery as well. The surgeries along with an associated infection / medication were completely covered less the deductible. In a 5 month time frame, Petplan reimbursed a total of almost $10,000. This amount would have devastated our family finances should we had to pay out of pocket! THANK YOU PETPLAN! You are the best. 
 
Pat Amundsen says:

1/7/2013
I am currently looking into pet insurance for my Chihuahua & the reviews have been very helpful, thought confusing. I picked up a paper at the vet office I where I work, and have been doing alot of investigating other pet insurance companies. After reading ALL of the reviews I think I have made up my mind.  
 
Elizabeth says:

9/26/2012
I am very confused. In the FAQ's it states that ACL injuries are not covered. Here is the quote: "Unfortunately, some pre-existing conditions are not considered curable. Examples of incurable conditions include, but are not limited to: Orthopedic illness (such as hip dysplasia or injuries related to cruciates or patellas)" So then I read customer reviews and people are saying the exact opposite. So are they covered or not? 
 
Denise R. says:

12/20/2011
I too used this website to help me choose an insurance plan for my baby girls. I have nothing but great things to say about Petplan. I have 4 policies with them.  
 
Colleen says:

12/2/2011
Hi, I am in the insurance biz and "reasonable and customary" is a normal term. It just means they take the average price for that procedure in your area and will pay the average, minus your coinsurance/deductible if applicable.  
 
Carolyn says:

10/12/2011
Very nice review, and so far, my experience has been the same. PetPlan will cover my 1 1/2 year old yorkie mix. He has IBS, and VPI denied coverage. PetPlan called it a pre-existing condition, but if no symptoms for 2 years, it would be covered. My dog has been symptom free for 8 months, and is doing very well. I am very happy that PetPlan recognized that just because he has a pre-existing condition, he is not uninsurable. 
 
Emily says:

7/26/2011
This is a response to Lisa and Rick. I'm assuming neither of you are policy holders, as I had the same question before purchasing insurance. In the policy, it defines "reasonable" as the charge your veterinarian regularly charges for that given procedure or treatment. It is NOT in comparison to other clinics or what PetPlan determines reasonable, a method used by some other insurers. Basically, they're stating your veterinarian can't charge 8x the normal rate due to you having insurance (fraud). I'm guessing they would only look into this further if something looked out of line. Hope this helps! 
 
Rick Estess says:

6/25/2011
I'm with Lisa Gilbert. It's been my experience, as a legal investigator, that when the term "reasonable" needs to be defined, the definition seems to favor whoever holds YOUR money. 
 
Lisa Gilbert says:

6/14/2011
From what I understand this insurance pays 90% of *reasonable costs*. How do we know what they consider "reasonable costs"? 
 
Liz Williamson says:

10/13/2010
We also have PetPlan for our dog. I just renewed today. With our previous dog we had the same issue as you. She had surgery on her left hind knee and one year later had to have the exact same surgery on her other knee. We had VPI at the time and they did not cover the second surgery. I was quite disappointed. After Jessie passed and we adopted our new dog, same breed, I chose PetPlan solely because they would cover the second let. So far they have been great! 
 
DALE says:

9/29/2010
THIS REVIEW WAS VERY THOROUGH AND HELPFUL. IT CONVICED ME TO INVESTIGATE THIS PLAN 
 




Comment on this Review

Your Name
Comment
Enter the characters below