Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Embrace
Petplan USA
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Review for Petplan USA


8/10   Who knew our puppy would turn out to be so ill?
Who knew that our rescue puppy "Libby" (who is so precious to us) would turn out to be such an ill little thing? In the 18 months she has blessed this earth so far, she has had Demadectic Mange, Pneumonia (twice), and recently Pancreatitus. Iíve had Petplan Insurance for about 10 years when I lived in the UK, for my dogs and it was invaluable, really! In fact itís the only insurance I use on a regular basis. So when we decided to move over to the USA with our dogs, calling Petplan US was the first thing on my ĎTo Do Listí, because I wanted to go with an Pet Insurance Company who I trusted and knew they would care about the health of my dog. The claims department is very efficient and I normally get reimbursed in about two weeks. Without hesitation Pet Insurance researches choose Petplan you wonít regret it. I say that with confidence after being with them now for almost 12 years in two differnt countries. TO ANYONE AT PETPLAN US WHO READS YOUR CUSTOMER REVIEWS: I believe that feedback is a gift and one thing that would be a WOW FACTOR was if Petplan US replicated Petplan UK and made arrangements to settle the pet treatment invoiceís directly with the Vet Clinics/Hospitals. So all we have to do as Petplan customers is pay our deductible or co-pay. Those vet bills sure can add up especially when you have a poorly puppy like ours! If you did that... without hesitation my 8 rating would go to a 10!!!
Clair - A Loyal Petplan Customer, 5/4/2010
Was this review helpful to you?      
 


Phee says:

3/21/2014
I have to partly agree and partly disagree with Jeff. Yes you need to consider whether you can afford a pet's care but when it comes to sudden illness or injury there's no way most people who work for a living can just pop thousands of dollars on a credit card. We had an emergency last year where we were told we had to place a large deposit with a c.c.. before they would do surgery. It was life or death situation. We actually maxed out our card--gave them the wrong one with a lower limit, we were that shaken at being told it would cost seven thousand dollars... Now who could ever predict that? As it turned out it was *only* about five thousand... and Petplan was great. Thank you, petulant. 
 
Tiffany says:

9/24/2013
I also lived in the uk for awhile and I have to agree, it really helps to be able to have the vet bill the insurance. We would have had to come up with about $10,000 for surgery which we did not have, instead it was $1,000. I never had issues with it being done this way. The claims were still paid and my cats care was certainly not limited. She had the best of everything. 
 
Mary says:

11/8/2012
Like some of the other commenters I too have authorized payment directly to my Veterinarian. I file the paperwork so the Vets Office does not have to do anything, unless PetPlan asks for more records. Of course the Vet has to agree to this plan - and usually if you pay the deductible up front, I have not had a problem. Pet Plan has been great especially now that one of my cats has cancer and needs long term expensive treatment.  
 
Rachel says:

5/20/2012
Top things to know, from THIS website: "4. You have to pay the veterinary bill out of your own pocket With human health insurance, your doctor invoices your insurance company and you may never even see the bill. However, with pet insurance, you have to pay your veterinary bill and then submit your claim to your insurance company for reimbursement. (This is because pet insurance is considered a form of property insurance.) " Pet insurance is considered a form of property insurance. There you have it. Asking Pet Plan to change the way payments are made won't do much anyway, you'd have to change the law that says pets are property. 
 
Mike says:

4/11/2012
Jeff you say "If you cannot afford to at least cover any potential accidents or injuries or illnesses (be that on a credit card, etc.) then you probably should not own a pet. Getting a pet is a huge undertaking and you have to be aware of the potential costs." Everyone should have a pet if they like. being able to afford the bills now days is a big problem for many and what would all these pets do without the owners. Thank God there are pet owners for all the animals out there to take care of and love. I had a dog for 14 yrs and had to take him to the vets 3 times total, mostly for vaccines so all pets aren't expensive to own. Vets are expensive and some are a lot more then others. It's not the owners fault the vet is too expensive. You need to do some research to find the right vet for your pet and what you can afford and with PetPlan, it seems affordable with the use of a care credit card. I know this is your point but some can't afford it also. But if you can find a vet who will take a payment plan (most will work with you) until you are reimbursed. 
 
Krista says:

4/6/2012
@Jeff I disagree with you wholeheartedly on one thing; If I can afford to get my dog, keep her utd on shots, have her examed and vetted for normal stuff and love her and afford her food/toys/spoiling her but cant afford a 3500 dollar vet bill, THATS NORMAL. I also find it funny you would say people who cant afford that shouldnt have pets when you mentioned you put your pets vet bill on the credit card. 
 
Mary says:

3/24/2012
The Vets that care for our pets will accept payment directly from Pet Plan. And Pet Plan directly paid the Vet. Now, that said - we filed the claim forms and authorized payment directly to the Vet hospital. It would seem that if you have a relatioship with your vet as we do, on a case by case basis you might be able to arrange with your vet to accept direct payment from Pet Plan. There is not much to filing a claim. The vet's office is involved regardless, because most claim forms require the Vet to write the diagnosis, provide the med records and bills and sign the paperwork to the pet owner, the only difference is the pet owner faxes the claim forms and records to the insurance company and not the Vet's office. I see the point though of not having the Vet have to collect everything from an insurance company, like human insurance. The Vets I have dealt with have always been very nice about providing whatever I need for the insurance. So I would guess you need to check with your Vet on ways to handle insurance.  
 
Jeff says:

1/5/2012
Yeah I disagree with changing the way forms are submitted and paid. You know your pets history more then they do, and since they do not cover pre-existing conditions (which they shouldn't) then they need the chance to investigate the claim. If you cannot afford to at least cover any potential accidents or injuries or illnesses (be that on a credit card, etc.) then you probably should not own a pet. Getting a pet is a huge undertaking and you have to be aware of the potential costs. Luckily PetPlan reimburses so quickly that we didnt even receive our credit card bill. 
 
theresa says:

12/14/2011
i understand the money can b tight but the vet bills are no joke there just needs to b a better way to care for our pet wit out killing the owner bank account and some vet are not to kind when it comes to pet cost most people need to pay cash for everything ..story i have a 10 week old mastiff and wanted to remove his dew claws they were getting caught on the carpet the vet charged me 900.00 for the front and back i spoke to my friend and she removed her dog for only 250.00 (BOTH) there should b some kind of standers on what a vet can charge yes u have tge rite to shop around but who does that we are supose to trust the aminal care system is why there are so many stray pets people can pay there crazy bills and u cant compare humans to pets as per insurance  
 
I 100% Agree!! says:

11/7/2011
I agree, that it would be very nice if Petplan would pay the veterinarians directly, instead of having us pay out of pocket beforehand. I have had to get several Care credit cards, in order to pay the veterinarian bills, because I have two dogs. Usually, when I take one dog to the veterinarian's office, I must wait until I receive the check from Petplan in order to put it quickly back into the Care credit card, before being able to reuse the Care card again, or for use for my second dogs care. I would much rather just pay the yearly-per diagnosis deductibles at the veterinarian office, and let Petplan pay them directly for the remaining balance due them.  
 
Amanda says:

10/9/2011
I've worked for a vet for 15 years. Please, please don't get the veterinarians staff involved. We have plenty of paperwork to deal with now. Most people don't realize the amount of paperwork we do on a daily basis. The hospital I work for would not be able to pay for another employee just to file insurance. We remind clients for vaccines, dental cleanings and appointments. Pet owners need to take responsibility for filing insurance.  
 
Trey says:

9/25/2011
I agree Amy, some of us dont have good enough credit to get a credit card or care credit to pay straight forward the vet bills, this is why I believe you should only have to prove to the insurance company that you paid the deductable and they can make out the rest of the payment to the vet you went through or something similar to that, making our out of pocket costs alot lower. 
 
pet doctor says:

8/16/2011
Clair, Watch your vet bills go soaring ever higher if you expect vets to deal with the kind of paperwork required to file medical insurance claims. We are busy enough and we have plenty of expenses already running businesses, we don't want to do more paperwork... We would all have to hire medical insurance claims departments to handle the extra paperwork and who's going to pay for that??? hmmm...  
 
marian says:

6/5/2011
Amy, I know where you're coming from, but I have to agree that we don't want to force our vets to have to deal directly with our insurers. It's wonderful that my vet will send the claim forms in for me, but I don't want them to have to deal with any more than that. I would suggest getting an emergency credit card or Care Credit account to keep around for the big bills. Thank you for your review--it was helpful! All the best to you and your furbaby. 
 
Elaine says:

4/30/2011
Do not get the vets directly involved with insurance companies. One of the reasons that they (the vets and many dentists) are customer focused is because unlike our medical doctors, they don't have insurance companies or the government calling the shots on payments. The customers call the shots on payments and a little annoyance with a pet insurance company once in a while is tolerable. We have enough baloney to deal with when we have our own medical problems fighting with insurance companies. So do our MDs.  
 
Cyn says:

4/17/2011
@Amy -- i'm always mostly broke, so i definitely understand not being able to pay out of pocket until my reimbursement comes. the solution i found was to open an account with Care Credit and make sure i use a vet who accepts it (carecredit is like a credit card specifically for medical, dental, veterinary bills... you have 0% interest for 6, 9, or 12 months on your balances, depending. i have always had the 6 month window, but that's more than enough time to get reimbursed) 
 
Barbara says:

4/5/2011
PetPlan pays so fast, if you use a credit card, the reimbursement would be in your hand before the cc bill came. I fax'd my latest claim in on 3/29 and I had the check in my had today, 4/5. This company is great! 
 
Dayna says:

3/13/2011
I have to agree with the first statement regarding turning pet insurance into human insurance. If you have a good vet you know and whom you trust and they trust you, there isn't an issue regarding payment. My vet has always allowed us to "make payments." We have never taken advantage of that, however, until our rescue basset became ill and passed away due to cancer. There was a large expense there at a time we couldn't afford to pay all at once. That's why we're looking into insurance for the rest of my brood. Thank you for your comments, though. It's helped us decide on an insurance company.  
 
nikki says:

1/17/2011
I totally agree with the comment about human health care system, please do not ruin the pet insurance system, we are responsible for our pets, not the insurance provider, lets not make the nightmare for our vets like the human health care catastrophy. 
 
Amy says:

1/14/2011
Yeah, but how many people can seriously afford to pay out of pocket and wait for reimbursement? 
 
Health care policy person says:

11/29/2010
NO NO NO. Don;t ruin pet insurance as we have with human insurance. The worst thing we could do is ask vets to take third-party payment from the insurance companies. This is one of the leading causes of problems with human insurance. First, the insurance companies pressure the docs to limit care by giving them problems with payments. Then they start paying for cheaper, sometimes more invasive treatments instead of the best for your pet. And finally, and most important, it corrupts the doc-patient relationship because the insurance company becomes the vet's client -- he who pays the bills calls the shots. and our research has shown repeatedly that insurance companies are much more responsive to policy holders than to the docs when filing complaints about claims, etc.  
 




Comment on this Review

Your Name
Comment
Enter the characters below