Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Review for Petplan USA


8/10   CCL surgery for our 1 1/2 year old dog
Willie is a 2 year old lab/boxer mix. When he turned a year old, I decided to get insurance for him because I figured he would hurt himself running/chasing/and playing with other dogs since he doesn't seem to care much for his well being. PetPlan had pretty good rates for him, so I chose them. 6 months later, he tore his CCL while catching a frisbee. I was worried that PetPlan would not cover this injury since I had read that many pet insurance companies would not cover this type of injury, but when I called them, they said no problem. My first claim to PetPlan was the orthopedic consult. I had more trouble getting the vets to send in the right paperwork, and PetPlan even tried to help me. The customer service lady was great. When I got the check from PetPlan, the amount was less than what I should have been reimbursed. When I called PetPlan, they immediately recognized the error and sent the remaining amount. The second claim to PetPlan was the surgery -> TPLO. Once again, I had more trouble with the vet turning in the proper paper work. But, once that was done, PetPlan reimbursed me for exactly the right amount per the plan. Since the surgery check was substantially larger, it took a longer time for me to get the check, but they did come through. I would still be in some serious debt without this insurance, and despite the fact that I am sure my rates will go up after this claim (Willie has a good chance of tearing his other CCL since the first one tore at such a young age), I will be sticking with PetPlan. By the way, 4 months after surgery, Willie is doing great; he is running with wild abandon once again.
Rachel, 5/30/2007
Was this review helpful to you?      
 


Corrie says:

3/7/2017
We got PetPlan when our Lab was 12 weeks old and she is now 6 years old. We never had an major claims. Our policy renewed in February and apparently they sent a letter stating that they were moving us to another plan. Our previous plan had a $100 deductible and 80% coinsurance, $10k annual maximum with a $600 annual premium. We were moved (without knowing) to a $400 deductible, 70% coinsurance, $15k annual maximum for the same exact $600 annual premium. I only knew the because our dog recently tore her ACL. She had pre-surgery visits and I submitted a bill for $395. I got a letter saying we would not be reimbursed because it was below our $400 deductible. That prompted me to call. They explained that new underwriters came in and most people were moved to new plans so that their premiums didn't increase significantly. So I did a quick quote online and for my old plan of $100 deductible, 80% coinsurance my premium would be over $1,400!!!!!! So really, if I would have kept my plan it would have been more than double, a 133% increase in premium. That is absolutely outrageous! But now that our dog has torn her ACL, we simply can't move to another company because it will be considered a pre-existing condition. I'm sick over this and would have loved to dump PetPlan on the spot, but we can't. Stay away from them.  
 
Dr Jeanie Branconi MD says:

6/5/2016
This insurance has not paid on a emergency bronchoscopy claim for a Shih Tzu in respiratory distress. They keep saying they are reviewing it but haven't paid.  
 
Sylvia says:

6/8/2014
Is there a cap on your yearly policy rate? Inflation is less than 2% right now! 
 
Cynthia Sacchetti says:

4/11/2011
My Lily is a 1-1/2 year old Bichon Frise. Last month she wasn't feeling herself--and being a neurotic "mom", and being on a Sunday, I took her to our local emergency hospital--truly believing that the ER vet would tell me she was fine and send me home. Unfortunately, she was running a fever, her labs came back as being anemic--and, she had pain in her abdomen. To make a long story short, Lily had to have emergency surgery. Her spleen, a portion of her omentum and small intestine had to be removed, as well as a wedge biopsy of her liver. Lily had septic peritonitis--and if not treated it would have been fatal. For two days I didn't know if she was going to survive. Her vet bill at that time was the least of my worries, but after the third day it hit me--I was going to have one heckofa vet bill. Fortunately, I had PetPlan insurance! I paid half of the vet bill out of my own pocket, and the hospital was gracious enough to bill the remaining amount to PetPlan. Lily's vet bill was $11,000--YIKES! I should mention that the hospital normally doesn't allow for billing of an insurance company, but because PetPlan was a "good" insurance company--they agreed. The claims process was a snap! Colleen Stroud was Lily's claim administrator, and she was fantastic! Best of all, PetPlan paid the remaining balance (to the hospital) in FULL, as well as reimbursing me, minus my $200 deductible and 10% copay (I have the gold plan with a $200 deductible with PetPlan paying 90%) As a result of PetPlan, Lily was allowed to have the best medical/surgical care veterinary medicine has to offer--which I know, is the reason she survived. Lily is now back to being a spoiled little Bichon. I LOVE PetPlan!!! 
 
larry says:

4/2/2011
ya raise rates slightly my behind here are rates first year 290 2nd year 256 3rd year 323 now renewal 408 this rate creep is crazy over 70% raise in 3 years.. a bunch of bull.. cannot recommend this carrier 
 
sandra L kaspar says:

5/14/2010
If my dog is referred to a specialist does the co pay change? 
 
Dee says:

5/4/2010
I am looking to get pet insurance for my Puggle and I see that all the reviews are pretty old. Does anyone have recent reviews. I was going towards the ASPCA pet insurance because they are widely known.  
 
John says:

2/13/2010
Like others have stated, YOU have to check on Pet Plan. They RARELY call you back. They claim to lose paperwork or claim that your Vet or specialist has not sent in proper papers. To keep Pet Plan on the straight and narrow, TAKE NOTES OF WHEN YOU CALL, WHO YOU SPEAK WITH, NOTES ON CONVERSATIONS, KEEP A COPY OF ALL FAXED PAPERS W/ TRANSMISSION CONFIRMATIONS, and then, they take notice that you are to be paid and not put off for months! I can't say they've ever come across as happy to pay out. The customer service reps are generally friendly but not knowledgable. This can be very frustrating. Pet Plan DOES cover a lot of ailments. Be patient, be vocal, be persistant and in an UNTIMELY manner, your payout will come. And, keep in mind your conversation is recorded. 
 
Dori says:

1/23/2010
I am disappointed to read some of the comments on here regarding policy holders feeling that petplan hasn't taken care of the claim properly or lost paper work. I have submited a total of 10 claims since August and that include 2 (TWO!) TPLO surgeries! I have made contact with customer service reps, and after realizing that there is a CLAIM representative that is assigned to my claims I requested to have a returned call. I received one and I can't tell you how please I was with the personal service immediate response and consideration (I think I called a few hundred times and numerous emails, not from lack of help but because I am very hands on!) Many people don't realize that follow up is very important, communication is key, and most of the time vets are the main cause of problems or confusion. You may need to keep in contact and be sure things are handled but that is with any company. I can't tell enough people how pleased I am with PetPlan and it has saved my puppies life! He is a lab just over a year and had TPLO surgery done on both knees, tuns of meds, numerous ear infections, and a few other issues. If you are referred to a specialist it is a 30% co-insurance; meaning you receive 70% of your claim back less the deductible. Looking at VPI and other insurance companies that is AWESOME! When in doubt TALK to your claim rep! They are priceless and helpful beyond words! PLEASE go with PetPlan they care so much for your pets health and makes sure to educate yourself on your policy it is PRICELESS! 
 
J says:

12/16/2009
I enrolled in pet plan for one of my cats. The other cat is over 10 so they wouldnt take him. Currently, they dont take pets over 10. However, they said they WILL be taking pets over 10 years old shortly. Of course I was told it would be by the new year but then I was told it would even be before that but nothing has happened yet in that regard. I started a claim in mid nov and it is now mid dec and I have yet to be paid for anything and have submitted about 1500.00 worth of bills. I asked 2 customer service reps if they had everything that they needed to complete my claim and get my check sent out. I was told yes on both occasions, then I recieved 2 different emails on 2 different occasions saying they need one invoice and then yet another that said they needed some additional records from one of the vets my pet was taken to. One of the items had already been faxed to them and I assume lost, although the fax got there because I asked them to verify that and they said they received it and i had a fax transmission report saying they got all that was faxed. Then the additional vet records were faxed today so I am hoping this claim will be handled to completion at this stage. This will def be an ongoing claim since my cat has CRF and I hope I wont have any further aggravation. I have enough of that with my sick pet. I have no problems AT ALL supplying them whatever they need BUT when employees tell me that they have everything they need and I should have my check in 2 weeks or less then I am still now well after those 2 weeks faxing papers, that is not acceptable. The customer service folks should know exactly how things work there so that they dont misinform customers/policy holders. I have also asked the person handling the claim via email, to call me by phone. That hasnt happened, so I assume this is one of those things that they dont want to talk to anyone which is also unacceptable. So at this point, I would say I am not happy with this company in spite of their many good reviews which I am wondering if some of those are self generated, but we will see how much more time they will take to pay my claim in full minus my 50.00 deductable. I own a local pet sitting biz where I live and have refrained from recommending pet plan until I have a better experience with them processing claims. Once I am happy with the professionalism of handling my claim, then I will think about referring my clients to them. This is almost worse so far than human health insurance! Their employees in customer service are very friendly, but they ould be the front for other types in the claim processing dept. Who knows! 
 
Mike says:

10/23/2009
I am hoping my experience is as good as those reported here. Right now I am waiting for petplan to finish reviewing all of my dog's vet reports for the prior two years and approve my claim. My initial experience has me anxious. I faxed my claim, but it never got processed and appears lost. I transmitted it again and now it is in process. I have had problems with the forms being available online. I can say so far customer service has been pretty fair. On the forms problem the first rep said he would take care of it, but it took a second phone call a week later. This time the rep got IT staff involved immediately and it was fixed within 24 hours. I am hopeful that I will be able to report back with a glowing review of the plan. 
 
ROBIN says:

10/15/2009
I GUESS I SHOULD CHANGE MY VET IF I CHOOSE TO GO W/ PETPLAN BECAUSE IF HE DOES NOT DO A CERTAIN PROCEDURE AND HAVE TO USE A SPECIALIST THEN PETPLAN'S 30% CO INSURANCE WILL COME INTO EFFECT. 
 
Alex says:

10/12/2009
It looks like I will be going with Pet Plan. 8 out of 10 is an excellent rating, and tells me that this person put thought into his decision. 
 
Charlie says:

9/21/2009
Unfortunately, it doesn't accept senior age pets! I was so let down. After reading many positive postings about this, I immediately checked out, and after FREE QUOTE, psoted it would not accept my senior cat, 12 years old, as the oldest it will accept is 9 years old. For dogs, it will only accept you as a new customer if under age 7.  
 
Mikey says:

5/14/2009
A general question. Numbers based off of a $1000 procedure with the $200 deductible 80% coinsurance? Am I correct when thinking it would be $600 in terms of reimbursement? Reason being 80 percent of $1000 is $800. $800 - $200 (deductible) = $600. Does this sound correct? Thanks Mikey  
 
K says:

4/15/2009
The policy I bought says it does cover cancer, as long as you purchased the policy before the dog got cancer. 
 
Chris Lefferts says:

4/3/2009
Does Petplan cover cancer? I recently lost a dog to cancer but she did live another year in relative good health with radiation and then chemo treatments. I just purchased a new puppy and want to insure her but want to make certain these types of treatments would be covered. 
 
Lisa says:

3/19/2009
How much was the TPLO surgery? How much did you get back? My lab had this surgery a couple of months ago. We paid $3,500 and only were reimbursed $727 with VPI. I am going to change incsurance. 
 
Hyla says:

2/27/2009
8/10 is a high rating. Why do people think that if you are happy you can only rate at a 10? This person had a positive experience, but not perfect. A mix up on documents can be a big deal if you don't have the money. Plus, again, 8/10 is very high!  
 
SH says:

1/31/2009
Were you referred to the vet who did the TPLO surgery, if so, was the reimbursement 30%? 
 
my decision says:

1/5/2009
I think I'm going with PetPlan. I've been searching for insurance, only the best for my indoor kitten (hope I'm making the right decision- accident/illness) because I believe PetPlan is right- it is the unexpected that causes the most damage to your pocket book, not routine care you can responsibly plan for. Based on reviews, PetPlan seems the best.  
 
Alan says:

12/10/2008
Rachel, They deserve a better rating than 8/10 based on your remarks. They are the best. 
 
conrad says:

11/16/2008
if the plan was good and paid off, why did you only give it an eight out of ten?...seems that it would be a ten other than the mix up on the documents...which is really a no big deal... 
 
Mo says:

8/21/2008
Some people are concerned about rate increases because some companies *DO* raise their individual rate after a certain number of claims have been submitted within a policy year. Happy to read here that Petplan doesn't.  
 
Erich Riesenberg says:

8/7/2008
Thanks, that makes sense. I spent a half day comparing all the insurers and insured with Pet Plan. It is the only plan that acts similar to my own major medical. I hope you don't expereince adverse claims and need to increase rates, i.e., I hope it isn't priced too low. It is just so much better than what the other insurers are offering, with all their limits and sub limits and exclusions. 
 
Gwynne Layne says:

6/18/2008
I am a Claims Advisor for Petplan and I can tell you with certainty that we will not raise your rates for putting in claims (we don't experience rate). Our policy rates may increase slightly when they renew, but this is just to keep up with the rising cost of veterinary care, not as a result of your claim amounts.  
 
Erich Riesenberg says:

6/10/2008
I am confused why people think rates should increase due to a claim. Human insurance is group rate based, and obviously dog insurance should be as well. Health insurance rates should increase due to things such as inflation, age of the insured, and geographic cost changes. 
 




Comment on this Review

Your Name
Comment
Enter the characters below