Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Pet First

Add a Review


Filter By:    


6/10   Not Very Clear
I click view my policy and it just says what the name of the policy is. So I go to the website and try to look at a breakdown and "search" Premier 1000 and there's zero search results.... I would like a little more autonomy to look things up online for my profile and not have to call every time I have a question. Whenever my dog's health changes it would be nice to know exactly what is my policy is for because by the time I need to use the insurance, I will have forgotten what the customer service person said on the phone when I purchased the plan. Otherwise, the claims get processed fast and the customer service people are nice on the phone.
Injury/Illness: Heart Murmur   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Rachael, 3/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Thanks to PetFirst, Chex is active and pain-free!
Chex is a young, athletic Catahoula. At only 10 months of age, Chex began to show signs of serious hip pain and was diagnosed with hip dysplasia. Thanks to PetFirst we were able to make the best possible choice for Chex to have a full recovery and a normal life by having hip replacement surgery. Two months post-surgery, Chex is once again active and now pain free! Thank you PetFirst for making this possible!
Injury/Illness: orthopedic   Breed: Catahoula Leopard
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Rhonda Weiss, 3/17/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
8/10   Fast and reliable, reasonable fees and conditions
I have the 80% coverage plus the 250$ care plan. Filing a claim is easy and Pet First processing time is good (abt 2 weeks). Compared to other pet insurances their prices are reasonable and conditions are easy to access and to understand. I love the care plan be audit covers preventive are such as heartworm medication, annual vet exam and shots.
Injury/Illness: Emergency care after bite wound infection   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Charlotte, 3/9/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Welcome to petfirst
Great company
Injury/Illness: eye problem   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Philip jones, 3/9/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Thanks to Vicky Heaps
I just wanted to wish Claims Adjuster Vicky Heaps the very best as she leaves the Petfirst family. She was always caring and helpful, and she will be missed by many pet parents.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Bichon Frise
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Doreen R., 3/7/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   PetFirst is Outstanding!
I have had PetFirst for both my cats since 2014. I am so glad I decided to do it, because my tortie kitty GiGi developed mammary cancer and has been through the wringer with surgeries and heart issues. PetFirst paid on all the claims I submitted. Then recently big cat Mason got into my trash can and ate a piece of floss and had emergency issues with that. Again PetFirst paid on these claims too. Customer service has been excellent! I have recommended PetFirst to my neighbors.
Injury/Illness: cancer heart   Breed: American Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Joanna Kamerer, 3/5/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Oustanding response to claims submitted
Pet First has always processed our claims in a very efficient and professional manner.Recently our male Shih-Zhu Bentley had his annual physical with labs and one lab resulted in a elevated pituitary hormonal level.He was placed on medication and now his level has normalized. Even though Bentley was showing no apparent symptoms,having his annual physical with appropriate labs diagnosed a concern that is now under control. His sister Abbey also had labs which were normal.Pet First has always provided excellent reimbursement for our precious pets.thanks, S.Solomon
Injury/Illness: cushings syndrome   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Dr.Sanford H.Solomon, 3/3/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   It REALLY was as easy as 1-2-3
On Christmas Eve, we received some very sad news about our dog from the vet. She was diagnosed with SARDS and can longer see. It was a very tough week. The good news was that Petfirst came to the rescue financially. I simply followed the steps, and submitted the information needed. Petfirst made it as simple as possible, and I received my claim as quickly as possible.
Injury/Illness: eye problem   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Kathy DeLellis, 3/2/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72


Review Pet First review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close