Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Embrace
Petplan USA
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Pet First

Add a Review


Filter By:    


10/10   PetFirrst Pet Insurance is outstanding; I love the
My overall review of them is that I think they are wonderful. The only tip I have is that I'd suggest they help their clients stay on vets about necessary paperwork when claims are filled.
Injury/Illness: eye problem gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Deanna C. Brand, 2/15/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Couldn't be more satisfied
For the record I have been a happy customer of PetFirst since 2007 when my 2 dogs were puppies. Last year one of my dogs developed chronic GI issues. In less than one year, I submitted nearly $5,000 in claims and PetFirst approved them all. The most recent claim was for an upper GI endoscopy that cost $2,057. Needless to say I couldn't be more satisfied knowing I can always count on PetFirst.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Havanese
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Tony, 2/14/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   claim viewer updates
I love PetFirst. They cover exactly what they say and will not try to scam you out of coverage, like some other companies. However, I would like to see updates for claims received. I would like there to be more info on what was received. In some cases, I have sent in three claims at once and it would be beneficial to see which one has been received/processing.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Holly Luechauer, 2/14/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   I highly recommend PetFirst Insurance to a Pet Own
I have called Petfirst last week and spoke with Jay Tradeau who explained my concerns. He was very knowledgeable and made me feel relaxed and everything was going to be okay, at least Petfirst insurance policy.
Injury/Illness: Intervertebral Disc Disease   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Francine Gallegos, 1/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Great customer service
I would like to let you know how impressed I am with Lauri. She did a great job answering my questions and getting our insurance plan set up !
Injury/Illness: New coverage   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Deb, 1/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   What a fantastic plan
I adopted my almost 1 year old mix from Companion Pet Rescue of TN located in Southbury, CT. The rescue recommended PetFirst and gave the basic plan free for a month. I had a 12 year old Bichon Frise that passed away early last year and I did not have pet insurance for her; I definitely learned my lesson. Pet First has been an amazing insurance, holding true to their policy, and reimbursing me almost 90% of all the 3 claims I have submitted to date. I have read a lot of negative reviews about this insurance, but they are just not true. If you follow the requirements and have your vet submit the proper documents, Pet First will reimburse you. I have never had to (knock on wood) call Pet First with any issues or fight a claim that was denied. My Cammie was just in the emergency vet clinic on 12/30 for a foreign substance in her stomach. An overnight stay at the ER vet clinic cost me $1951.29 of which I am going to be reimbursed $1666.16; leaving me to pay off only $285.13. This is my third claim with Cammie and I have been impressed with Pet First's superior service. Thank you for easing my mind when I take Cammie to the vet; no longer do I have to worry about the cost, just her care!
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Toni-Ann, 1/18/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Peace of mind
Since I have been a dog owner(lover) this is the best I have felt about being able to take care of any of my dogs medical issues.
Injury/Illness: Liver Cushing deasease   Breed: Pekingese
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Irene Bellot, 1/18/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
8/10   Bring Your Senior Pet Here!
PetFirst accepts senior pets (over 14) in their Lifetime Medical Plan at a 90% reimbursement rate. This is unmatched anywhere, I know I did the research. You also get a savings equal to a month and a half of coverage with annual payment of your policy. Yes, I would love their claims processing times to be better (up to 3 weeks average), but if it wasn't for them, my senior girl with a chronic issue may not have gotten the treatment she greatly needed. For that it is a small price to pay and I am quite thankful to Pet First!
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney) thyroid   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Camille G., 1/15/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70


Review Pet First review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close