Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Pet First

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Was not informative
When i signed up I was told I will get reimbursed for any vet visits which was a lie. I would never sign up with them it was the biggest mistake and waste of money, whatever was paid for insurance could of been used at the vet
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Jeffery Santos, 8/2/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Useless
Routine vaccines and preventative care is not covered.
Injury/Illness: preventative care and vaccines   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Kimble, 6/29/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Claims
No one is returning my calls concerning reimbursement of my claims for Tiger. All my legitimate claims have been denied. You have no problem taking my payment, but a lot of excuses for not reimbursing me. I am very disappointed with the unprofessionalism shown to me. You have zero tolerance for fake reviews & I have zero tolerance for ignorance.
Injury/Illness: Diabetic   Breed: American Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Carmen Rivera, 6/28/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   What have I been paying for?
After 5 years of paying for insurance I finally really needed them. After realizing the rates went up almost every year, I came to the realization they do not cover a single thing that would actually happen to your pet!!!!! If I never paid a dime to this "pet insurance" I could have easily paid for the procedure plus donated money to dogs that really needed it!
Injury/Illness: nothing was ever covered!!!!!!!!!   Breed: American Staffordshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Samantha Gonzalez, 6/27/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/10   Beware if your pet had heartworm
In January I adopted a dog who had been treated for heartworm (Lee was asymptomatic and the disease was found during routine tests after he was removed from a shelter). In March he came down with a cough and his appetite declined, plus he ran a temperature, so we started antibiotics. Baytril actually made things worse so we switched to Doxycycline, and he improved. In the meantime - blood tests, x-rays, fecal and urine analyses... It came to $1400, and there was no firm diagnosis in the end. So PetFirst is chalking it up to aftereffects of heartworm. My vet doesn't see any point in appealing, because although he is doubtful that heartworm was the problem we can't prove that it was something else. So I suppose PetFirst is justified in denying my claim, but just be warned that this insurance will likely not help you if you adopt a dog that has received treatment for heartworm... I will say that customer service has been very cordial. I only wish that when I first spoke to a representative I had been better educated about the chances of a claim being denied.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Suzy Mongeon, 6/27/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
8/10   These guys really help in an emergency
I love that I have my pet covered by Petfirst so when an emergency exists, the last thing I need to do is worry about weather I can take my pet to the vet or not and afford to help him. I've had this insurance for 7 years now and have used it more than once. One time it was a huge bill, I would have been broke afterwards. Thank You Pet First!
Injury/Illness: skin problem renal (kidney)   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Pam Zinn, 6/26/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   It's been totally worth it for us!
We have had PetFirst Insurance on our puppy since we got him 2 years ago. It has been worth every penny. I don't worry about having to take him to the vet when we think something is wrong, because I know I'll be able to submit a claim for insurance after.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Lauren, 6/26/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Price Increase for NO reason
I feel Pest First is running a scam I paid 17.95 a month for one year with no claims . On renewal date rate increase of 10.05 a month so insurance that I never used goes from $215.50 a year to $323.40 a $107.50 increase in one year these guys are worse then Auto Insurance lady on phone tries feeding me the BS of its Florida where I live come on its pet insurance not human ,
Injury/Illness: Rise my pets rates after one year and no claims   Breed: Siamese
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Greg, 6/23/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  74  75  76  77  78  79  80  81  82  83  84  85  86  87  88  89  90  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  98


Review Pet First review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close