Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Pet First

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Claim Runaround
I have been trying to get a claim processed for the last two months. My statues will be running out soon! I keep getting the runaround on how my doctor is not filling out the claim form properly. My doctor wrote on the claim form what he did , what he diagnosed, what he charged. The claim gets kicked back twice saying its rejected because the doctor didn't put his notes in the claim form. Twice I had the doctor put all the information in and twice it was rejected for last of Dr. notes. Plus they wanted the last twelve months of Candy's history with the doctor. Well she hasn't been with this doctor for 12 months or 6 months or 4 months. This was her first time. But they rejected her claim because the doctor didn't put down her last 12 month history. What can I do??
Injury/Illness: dislocation of bone in hid leg.   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Daniel Summers, 6/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Jill - Customer Service Representative
Jill is incredible kind, patient and knowledgeable about the product. She is truly interested in your pet and is a joy to talk to. She is the example of what great customer service is!
Injury/Illness: no claim   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: under a year
Natalie, 6/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   great
we have not had to use pet first for anything catastrophic.but our experience has been great.we have had this insurance for over 20 yrs.nothing but prompt payments!
Injury/Illness: skin issues and inoculations   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
donna hoppe, 6/14/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Poster child for pet insurance!
I am extremely pleased with the service I have received from Nationwide Pet First Insurance. I got pet insurance a few years ago when my Rottie injested half of a dish towel. After a surprising, non-budgeted $231 I decided it was for the best. I have 2 Rotties (littermates) and did not want to have any more surprise expenses. It was the best thing that I could have done. I am extremely pleased with the service. My claims (and there have been many) have always been processed quickly and I generally receive 50 to 100% reimbursement. It has been a lifesaver and I have encouraged all pet owners that I know to get it as well.
Injury/Illness: eye problem skin problem   Breed: Rottweiler
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Marlene LaGrone, 6/13/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Cancelation of Policy
I took out Insurance on my dog and did not received the policy when I called and received policy I reviewed I was not happy with the terms was I called and canceled the policy I had found out that second installment was deducted from my credit card card, I was told that I had 14 days to review the policy so they can give me a portion of the 2nd installment. This alone tells me that this was a good decision to cancel my reason for cancelling is that when I read the policy you have to pay the Vet bills upfront and the submit the bills to the Ins co. the they would to review and then decide if to pay it and then the would 20% of the amount, I would rather open a savings account, and use it as the need arises
Injury/Illness: None   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Mariano De Souza, 6/9/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   AvoI'd at all costs
Our seven year old, healthy Lab has been covered by a PetFirst policy since he was 12 weeks old. Recently brought him in to the Vet, sent in a claim and was denied on the basis of a "pre-existing condition." Unbeknownst to us, and NEVER clearly stated by anyone at PetFirst, is the fact that if your pet is called covered in (for example) Year-1 for said injury, illness, etc. and Year-2, same injury/illness occurs, you're NO LONGER COVERED. Each year the policy "renews," previous covered conditions are categorized as "pre-existing." If this isn't snake oil, nothing is.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Michael B., 6/9/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Ridiculous
I have carried insurance on this dog since she was born. At 6 she had back spasms and was diagnosed with IVDD. I submitted a $300 claim and about $180 was covered. The following year the IVDD worsened and she had to be put down. After incurring $1000 in medical bills to have this diagnosed the claim was denied due to "chronic" condition. This had flared up once, went away and came back with a vengeance. After 8 years of paying premiums they paid out a total of $180.00. Not worth it.
Injury/Illness: IVDD   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
ELizabeth Haddad, 6/2/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Awesome!
Your insurance company is absolutely wonderful! I have had coverage with your company for quite a few years and have always felt that your claims process is easy,fair,fast,extremely caring! When my dog Joey passed away during the operation, your staff sent a card and expressed their condolences directly to me! That was very important to me that you really cared about my pets! Thank you for always having our best interests in mind! Sincerely, Cindy
Injury/Illness: skin problem gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea renal (kidney) thyroid   Breed: Greyhound
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Cindy DuMond, 6/1/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  74  75  76  77  78  79


Review Pet First review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close