Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Pet First

Add a Review


Filter By:    


10/10   great service
Always good service
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Cocker Spaniel
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
frank skipper, 12/23/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Highly Recommended
My rescue has been insured with PetFirst since I adopted him. We've filed a couple of claims, and I was reimbursed quickly both times. We've now adopted a puppy and wanted to insure him as well. I spoke with Sam in customer service, and he was so wonderful in helping me to pick a plan for the puppy, and giving me thorough information so I could decide if I wanted to move my older dog to a new plan as well. The transaction was smooth and fairly quick. I'm very happy with PetFirst and the products they offer.
Injury/Illness: pulled muscle in leg   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Aimee Jacobs, 12/23/2016
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Disappointing!
My elderly dog was ill one night, so I took him to the vet's office the very next day. The vet recommended a thorough screening to rule out any serious illness. The bill was over $500. How much will I be reimbursed? NOTHING! I pay about $90 a month for this insurance, because I thought that it would give me peace of mind for situations like this. They even advertise that they assist with costs for illness. How misleading! Boy was I wrong! I am so upset and disappointed.
Injury/Illness: thyroid Stomach issues   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Cindy, 12/22/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/10   Not good for California
The $1000 cap is really not sufficient in California with the crazy veterinary prices. I has exhausted that much in the diagnostic stage and had none left when the surgery recommendation came. Better than nothing, but may be better off paying a little more to have more coverage.
Injury/Illness: bladder   Breed: Maltese
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Catherine Senter, 12/22/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Amazing and thankful.
PetFirst has always taken care of my family. Everyone on staff is caring and understanding that our animals are our family. My dog has had a few illnesses and has made it through each time. My husband and I could not have done it without PetFirst. We are thankful for your compassion towards our family.
Injury/Illness: back problem   Breed: Peek-a-poo
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Gina, 12/22/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Fantastic
we adopted two black lab rescues brother and sister, they got parvo 10 days after we got them. Luckily I got petfirst insurance on them as they were hospitalized. Pet first was GREAT to work with. Paid our claims fast and easy no hassle! Great company!!!
Injury/Illness: PARVO   Breed: Labrador Mix
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Tracey, 12/16/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
7/10   Good but website needs update
I just submitted my first claim and I sent all the paperwork from my vet. But they require an actual claim form with the same information that was on the vet records. I tried to upload the claim form to the existing claim but there wasn't a button for "existing claim". By the time they got back to me it was passed 10 days and I had to start a whole new claim. Besides the annoying process to file a claim, I think they send your claim money quick and they do cover everything that's not pre existing.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Jessica, 12/15/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Slow review of bills
Compared with other pet insurance policies we have had, Pet First is very slow to review and approve or reject claims. Hard to track when it takes this long and I do not get written or email feedback. Very nice and apologetic people on phone.
Injury/Illness: Injesting object   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Michelle, 12/13/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67


Review Pet First review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close