Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for

Add a Review


Filter By:    


9/10   Pleasantly surprised.
We have selected a $200 deductible, 90% coverage/10% co-pay. It's around $68 a month for our young dog. We have a 5 month old labradoodle that was suddenly having loose stools for over a week and also an itchy , stinky ear. We took to our local vet on May 1st. The bill was $235. It included prescription food, ear drops, vet visit, abx for tummy and a probiotic called Fortiflora for 2 weeks. The vet sent off the form for us sometime after we left, I assume the next day as we were late in the day and the Dr had not written it up yet. On May 3rd we got notification by email from Pets Plus Us that they had received it. On May 9th we got the receipt/calculation/reimbursement info by email. They do not cover the Fortiflora due to our plan. I think it's because it doesn't carry some health number, etc. I knew some things would not be covered going into this . Probiotics, I believe, are not regulated as of yet in Canada so this is understandable. I am receiving the total back for our prescription diet even though we have not met the deductible as prescription food as no co-pay or deductible is applied to it. Happy about that! Pets plus us has great customer service and the claims turnaround was way faster than I expected! Really happy we have coverage with them.
Injury/Illness: ear problem enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: Labradoodle
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
EP, 5/11/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Pets Plus Us pet insurnace
I have been breeding great danes for nearly 20 years. Because I am a registered breeder I have the opportunity to send my puppies to their new homes with 6 weeks of free insurance. It gives me a great deal of comfort knowing my puppies are covered by insurance and really appreciate Pets Plus Us following up and helping my puppy buyers to get the insurance. I tell them it is like wearing a seat belt, you may never need it, but when you do it sure is wonderful to have! I have dealt with another company that the CKC used to endorse, but Pets Plus Us has been better to work with and seem to appreciate breeders.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Great Dane
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Bosworth Reg'd Great Danes, 5/5/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Excellent
Best thing I ever did was get this insurance for my 3 Retrievers.....love you guys
Injury/Illness: skin problem gastritis/vomiting Limping   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sheila Morley, 5/3/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
8/10   Super friendly, slow to underwrite
My dog tore her ACL and had to have surgery. PetsplusUs didn't finish underwriting the claim until 8 weeks after the surgery date due to a lack of medical history (which I had to get for them). However, they did cover their portion and were very helpful and friendly when I did have any questions.
Injury/Illness: Torn ACL ligament   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Candace, 4/29/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   I'm so happy I have insurance
My German Shepard boy Apollo just recently had to have a knee surgery. He is recovering really well. Hopefully in 8 more weeks he will be running and enjoying summer. I am so happy I have insurance for both of my dogs. I would have had to wait to do his surgery if I didn't. I am very impressed with Pets Plus Us for the way our claim has been handled. I sure wasn't expecting them to actually phone me and ask how Apollo is doing. Thank you for asking. I have recommended Pets Plus Us to many of my friends and clients as I'm a dog groomer.
Injury/Illness: Knee resurfacing surgery   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Shannon Kendall, 4/25/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Excellent Service and Informative
We purchased a policy with Pets Plus Us for Chalka as we were impressed with the level of knowledge and advice we received when investigating coverage. This companies customer service reps were extremely informative, helpful and knowlegeable. Their premium was competitive and they have a lot of extras that the other companies don't have.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Shannon, 4/21/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Great Customer Service
We got free insurance with our first rescue and during the trial Zoe had parvovirus. We decided to purchase the insurance and glad we did because Zoe got epilepsy and it was covered. After Zoe passed, we recently rescued another dog which had his front right leg amputated as a result of a shotgun wound. Pets Plus Us underwrote his coverage and to our surprise there was no pre-existing exclusions for complications with his amputation although there is still a small piece of bullet lodged in the right shoulder. We researched the coverage of our previous company and Pets Plus Us and found their coverage easier to understand and there help on the phone very good. We have submitted one small claim which was paid in almost half the time as our previous insurer. Recommend insurance to everyone with a rescue and Pets Plus Us has been very good to deal with.
Injury/Illness: ear problem   Breed: Newfoundland
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sue G., 4/11/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   So glad I went with Pets + Us!!
When we purchased our yellow lab, he came with six weeks insurance from another provider. As I closed in on the 6 week expiry I had chatted with a client/breeder and told her I was in the market and she recommended this company. I did some more research myself and Pets+Us was the one I chose. So glad we did!! Our 10 month old lab almost lost his life about 6 weeks ago due to a stomach issue and needing emergency surgery.I sent in my claim and was contacted immediately that they had received it and were reviewing it. There was some missing info that was needed so they emailed me and I took that to my vet to finish the process. To my surprise, someone from the company had contacted my vet directly and had them fax over the missing info. What a relief that I wouldn't need to wait anymore time to get reimbursed. My experience with any kind of insurance has always been that the client does all the running around and collecting of info. I called to make sure they had everything they needed and the person on the other end of the call spoke to me as if I were a friend asking how my family member was and wishing him well. I was thrilled to receive another call back as well to see how he was making out. The total turn around was less than 3 weeks I believe and the money was deposited electronically right to our account. I tell all my pet owning friends about how impressed I was with Pets+Us and their process. I hope I never need to use them again, but if I do, I am glad it is them I will be dealing with!
Injury/Illness: stomach blockage   Breed: Yellow Lab
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Bridget, 4/9/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11


Review review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close