Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for United Pet Care

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   ROB YOU BLIND
They charged me $11.83 for a whole year before I realized that they are NOT a pet insurance. DO NOT get this, as you will be sorry. And then when I wanted to cancel they charged me $30. Rip-off. Contact the consumer affairs for your state and file a complaint.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Turkish Van
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Cindy Yount, 4/26/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Horrible
I paid over 1,000 in insurance fees and they never reimbursed me for 10% of a 700 emergency vet bill. It would have been 70.00. I left extremely disappointed with this company.
Injury/Illness: stomach issue   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Bridget Keating, 9/12/2015
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Buyer Beware
I reinstated my membership yesterday for $17, bought a one year membership $153. When I got home from the vet, I just realized I do not need the one year membership as we have to put our dog out in the very near future. So I called and talked to Wanda to get a refund, she said I can cancel the membership for $30, but will not give me any refund!! Imagine that! she wants me to pay an additional $30, and they don't have to refund me anything!! I told her I was not in my right mind yesterday and that I was an emotional wreck as I was dealing with my ailing dog. I didn't want to argue with her, so I asked to talk to someone else. After putting me on hold for a few minutes, she came back and said management is out, and that someone will call me. An hour later she called me and said she can refund me $86.74. You do the math!!! I say it is a good discount program if you take your dog to the vet several times a year, otherwise the savings is not worth it!
Injury/Illness: aging dog   Breed: Lhasa Apso
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Anna Marie, 5/20/2014
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Discusted with response I received
I have had UPC for at least 5 years or more. I've recently had to have a cat euthanized, due to chronic kidney disease. She was euthanized Aug. 29, and I called UPC Aug.30. I have always paid for this a year in advance,rather than monthly. Imagine my surprise when I heard they were refunding the months of October-December, because they had already pre-paid my vet for September!! They told me they cannot ask the vet for a refund. REALLY?? Are you kidding me? The female I talked to was Wanda & it was Wanda's chuckle when she told me, we had already paid the vet and can't ask for it back. I said really? I will surely not pay a year in advance again....IF I decide to get your service again, which I highly doubt....(My 2 remaining cats are indoor cats, and I have no need for their service.) Do they not know that information is public? Have they not heard of social media?? Don't think I didn't try FB....Wonder why they are not there!
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney)   Breed: Calico
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Pamela Harris, 9/11/2013
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Great savings on pet healthcare
I have been a member of United Pet Care on and off with 2 different dogs over the past 14 years. One of my dogs had cancer. All the testing to determine the illness and medications to try and help her became quite expensive. I saved 20% on the procedures and medications. The vets that I have used were most compassionate and caring. This is an awesome program that helps you take care of your pet.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Robert Schwartz, 8/22/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Massive Savings
When I joined United Pet Care 9 years ago, my brother was drinking Kailua and left his full glass on the floor while he went to the bathroom. One of my dogs (9 lbs) drank the whole glass. Within about 1/2 hour the dog was lying on the floor with its tongue hanging out of its mouth and was barely breathing. I rushed it the vetís office (the one on Unite Pet Careís program) and they kept it for 4 days. The dog ended up with alcohol poisoning. They ended up doing 4 bloods transfusions and watched my pet around the clock. I was in shock when I got my $4000.00 bill. Thank GOD I had United Pet Care. After they took the savings off the top of my bill I only had to pay $3000.00. I saved $1,000.00 just by having United Pet Care, which was taken off of the bill immediately! The vet didnít have to keep the pet and could have sent me to an emergency facility, but they went above and beyond because I was a Unite Pet Care member. In the 9 years I have been with United Pet Care I have always been treated with GREAT customer service from the staff and will never go back VPI or Banfield, which is another story. United Pet Care you have a customer for life!
Injury/Illness: Alcohol poisoning   Breed: Terrier
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Rhonda, 8/22/2013
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Pays for itself
I have had UPC in the past and decided to get it again for my 14 year old lab. She was due for her shots, and since immunizations are covered 100% it was a no brainier for me or anyone . The $20. Savings for office visits alone, plus the cost of the insurance monthly is less than the price of the 20% savings on her arthritis medication medication. This is a great discount plan, if you can find your vet is on it,
Injury/Illness: Arthritis   Breed: Labrador Mix
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Rose, 6/8/2013
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   So-Called "Policie"
Like the other review, I had my card "declined." Due to it getting stolen and shut down. At the same time I moved housing, so didn't get the memo that my car was having issues. I call to set up another dog of mine on their plan and was informed of the "20" fee, plus the "17" re activate fee, and the 13 dollar per pet. While trying to figure out all these fees, the lady was exceptionally rude, would not let me talk, kept cutting me off and raising her voice at me. I told her she was being rude and I wanted to talk to her manager, who then told me because I recently spoke to her and had to hang up, that I was at fault. She said me hanging up was rude, and I should have called to apologize. This is a BUSINESS lady, not your personal cell phone. You expect too much to have someone call and apologize to you because you requested insane fees. I also asked to have my dogs under my moms name, and was informed that "I am a dishonest person, and would not get a membership because so." Long story short, Carolina, the manager apparently, told me I would need to pay the whole year for both my dogs, otherwise they wouldn't give me a membership. THEN proceeds to tell me that she will "have to think over my membership." Again, you are not a small business, you are a corporation. Clearly communication is not this companies best policy. Once you get the membership. DON'T bother talking to the employees. The membership and coverage is decent. Because of them I have the best vet for my d
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Labrador Mix
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Nikole, 1/30/2013
View Comments (2) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4


Review United Pet Care review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close