Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for VPI

Add a Review

Visit Website

Filter By:    


1/10   They may not pay your claim
I'm writing this review based on my experience with VPI a few years ago. My dog had an eye infection and I took him in to emergency. VPI denied my claim because they said it was a secondary result of allergies, a pre-existing condition. I felt like this was a bogus reason for them to deny my claim. They were terrible to deal with and I cancelled my policy. I ended up enrolling in Healthy Paws and they are so much better. I don't trust VPI to process and pay on claims.
Injury/Illness: eye problem   Breed: Great Pyrenees
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Christine, 7/3/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Horrible
Folks should pay close attention to what the company will pay per incident and compare that amount to monthly premiums. This isn't much of an issue when your pet is young and healthy. However, when your pet is older and premiums rise you will likely find that the amount you pay in premiums is much greater than the amount the company is willing to reimburse. For example, my dog is almost 13 years old and was recently diagnosed with congestive heart failure because of a heart murmur. My insurance is currently $95 per month and VPI is only willing to pay $294 total for this type of illness.
Injury/Illness: Congestive heart failure   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Michelle Kemper, 6/2/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   not pleased
I have had both my chichuauas insured with nationwide formally vpi I am so wanting to change insurance co but no one will insure one of my dogs because she has been diagnosed with ibs is there anyone out there I can call
Injury/Illness: ibs   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
phillis, 5/25/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   So Necessary
I had an 8 year old cat with reoccurring but undiagnosed problems. I spent several thousand of dollars over approximately two-three years on every possible test/remedy you could think of. XRays, Ultrasounds, Bloodwork, Science Diet Food, Allergy testing, etc. Fortunately for me, I had VPI pet insurance and I was fairly promptly reimbursed for the appropriate percentage of my vet bill (based on my selected plan & options). I have had 99 problems, but VPI was not one. *The above experience was circa 2011-2014. I have a new cat now (age 5), and i still have VPI insurance, but fortunately I have not had to use it at all in the last 3+ years.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting renal (kidney)   Breed: Persian
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Nichole A. Collins, 5/4/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Rip off
I got this insurance when I first got my puppy 11 years ago. It was my understanding that they would pay 90% of any health bills that came in. I didn't need the insurance until he got diabetes two months ago, then pancreatitis. Here's the deal, there is a "set limit" on what they will pay for a certain illness every year and then THAT'S IT, your on your own til next year. So for the diabetes, they paid $400 after deducting $50 as a deductible, then 90% of the rest. He went into the hospital as an emergency case. The bills totaled over $7,000 when adding everything he had wrong with him the past two months, and I only got $1,300 for everything. Before this, I rarely took my dog in for any illnesses. Now that he is older, he needs the insurance. I pay close to $70 per month in premiums and is only going higher as he gets older. I figured I paid over $6,000 in premiums over the years. The only thing that is worth a darn is the cancer rider I purchased with both my dogs. When one dog got cancer, VPI paid out about $6,500 leaving me with a bill of $11,000 when she died.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Australian Cattle Dog
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
J. Evans, 4/4/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   don't do it
I have had two of my cats enrolled for about 3 years, and then I added my new kitten and dog a year later. I've never had to lean on them until this year when my kitten became suddenly severely ill- diagnosed with flutd and then getting two urinary obstruction within a week of each other, requiring hospitalization both times. we racked up a $2,000 bill but I made the decision to treat him because he was young, healthy otherwise, and because I had pet insurance who I thought I could depend on during this stressful time in my life. after his second blockage he required a surgery that redirects his urethra so that he never is at risk of a blockage again. something you'd think an insurance company would prefer because then they won't have to reimburse for another hospitalization should he obstruct again. unfortunately, I'm still editing to be reimbursed from the first hospitalization and it's been over a month. I just got a letter stating that they require another 30 days to process my claim. why? I submitted all of the necessary invoices, letters from the vet, and his full medical history, showing that he's never had so much as a cough since kitten hood. so, I'm $6,000 in the hole, my payments for his care are due, and I've been left high and dry by the company I thought I could rely on when it mattered. Guess I just gave you all of this premium money for free, eh? I've cancelled all of my other animals policies and decided to put the monthly premium into a savings account in case of emergency... after I make the payments toward his unpaid bills, of course. you just can't rely on anyone else but yourself these days. I'm so upset at the money I wasted and the lack of compassion or support when I call.
Injury/Illness: flutd   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
frustrated, 4/2/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Nationwide has more than doubled premiums
I started out with VPI for our 3 month old Yorkie. Premiums were $27.00. New year, new price. My healthy 5 year old is now supposed to cost me $56.00 now...I don't think so. I Cancelled the policy. Not the end of the story, they debited my account for another pmt, the first of March. The bank got it reversed. Today...you guessed it, they debited my account AGAIN!! How scammy can a company get!!
Injury/Illness: Wellness visit and immunizations   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Judy Baker, 4/1/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Absolute Waste of Money
My dog has had insurance since she was a puppy. She is now 11. I have paid somewhere around $3,750 in fees since getting my dog's insurance through VPI, now Nationwide. My puppy was recently sick and her bill totaled about $800 dollars for two separate Vet visits. Since both of the visits were in the same 'claim period' my reimbursement was greatly reduced. This plan, that I have been paying on for the last 11 years, only reimbursed me $250.00 in TOTAL. So that leaves me with the remaining $550 Vet bill AND the disgust of knowing that I wasted $3750.00 paid over the last 11 years. Quite honestly, if I had to do this over, I would either choose a totally different provider or, open a 'special' savings for my pup and drop $10 in it each payday. If I had done that I would still have over $2000 in that special "vet" fund for her and I would not have thrown away $3750. AVOID this insurance, major ripoff.
Injury/Illness: Arthritis and UTI   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Cheryl, 2/27/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  74  75  76  77  78  79  80  81  82  83  84  85  86  87  88  89  90  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  98  99  100  101  102  103  104  105  106  107  108  109  110  111  112  113  114  115  116  117  118  119  120  121  122  123  124  125  126  127  128  129  130  131  132  133  134  135  136  137  138  139  140  141  142  143  144  145  146  147  148  149  150  151  152  153  154  155  156  157  158  159  160  161  162  163  164  165  166  167  168  169  170  171  172  173  174  175  176  177  178  179  180  181  182  183  184  185  186  187  188  189  190  191  192  193  194  195  196  197  198  199  200  201  202  203  204  205  206  207  208  209  210  211  212  213  214  215  216  217  218  219  220  221  222  223  224  225  226  227  228  229  230  231  232  233  234  235  236  237  238  239  240  241  242  243  244  245  246  247  248  249  250  251  252  253  254  255  256  257  258  259  260  261  262  263  264  265  266  267  268  269  270  271  272  273  274  275  276  277  278  279  280  281  282  283  284  285  286  287  288  289  290  291  292  293  294  295  296  297  298  299  300  301  302  303  304  305  306  307  308  309  310  311  312  313  314  315  316  317  318  319  320  321  322  323  324  325  326  327  328  329  330  331  332  333  334  335  336  337  338  339  340  341  342  343  344  345  346  347  348  349  350  351  352  353  354  355  356  357  358  359  360  361  362  363  364  365  366  367  368  369  370  371  372  373  374  375  376  377  378  379  380  381  382  383  384  385  386  387  388  389  390  391  392  393  394  395  396  397  398  399  400  401  402  403  404  405  406  407  408  409  410  411  412  413  414  415  416  417  418  419  420  421  422
Visit Website


Review VPI review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close