Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Embrace
Petplan USA
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for VPI

Add a Review

Visit Website

Filter By:    


10/10   So Necessary
I had an 8 year old cat with reoccurring but undiagnosed problems. I spent several thousand of dollars over approximately two-three years on every possible test/remedy you could think of. XRays, Ultrasounds, Bloodwork, Science Diet Food, Allergy testing, etc. Fortunately for me, I had VPI pet insurance and I was fairly promptly reimbursed for the appropriate percentage of my vet bill (based on my selected plan & options). I have had 99 problems, but VPI was not one. *The above experience was circa 2011-2014. I have a new cat now (age 5), and i still have VPI insurance, but fortunately I have not had to use it at all in the last 3+ years.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting renal (kidney)   Breed: Persian
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Nichole A. Collins, 5/4/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   don't do it
I have had two of my cats enrolled for about 3 years, and then I added my new kitten and dog a year later. I've never had to lean on them until this year when my kitten became suddenly severely ill- diagnosed with flutd and then getting two urinary obstruction within a week of each other, requiring hospitalization both times. we racked up a $2,000 bill but I made the decision to treat him because he was young, healthy otherwise, and because I had pet insurance who I thought I could depend on during this stressful time in my life. after his second blockage he required a surgery that redirects his urethra so that he never is at risk of a blockage again. something you'd think an insurance company would prefer because then they won't have to reimburse for another hospitalization should he obstruct again. unfortunately, I'm still editing to be reimbursed from the first hospitalization and it's been over a month. I just got a letter stating that they require another 30 days to process my claim. why? I submitted all of the necessary invoices, letters from the vet, and his full medical history, showing that he's never had so much as a cough since kitten hood. so, I'm $6,000 in the hole, my payments for his care are due, and I've been left high and dry by the company I thought I could rely on when it mattered. Guess I just gave you all of this premium money for free, eh? I've cancelled all of my other animals policies and decided to put the monthly premium into a savings account in case of emergency... after I make the payments toward his unpaid bills, of course. you just can't rely on anyone else but yourself these days. I'm so upset at the money I wasted and the lack of compassion or support when I call.
Injury/Illness: flutd   Breed: Domestic Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
frustrated, 4/2/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Nationwide has more than doubled premiums
I started out with VPI for our 3 month old Yorkie. Premiums were $27.00. New year, new price. My healthy 5 year old is now supposed to cost me $56.00 now...I don't think so. I Cancelled the policy. Not the end of the story, they debited my account for another pmt, the first of March. The bank got it reversed. Today...you guessed it, they debited my account AGAIN!! How scammy can a company get!!
Injury/Illness: Wellness visit and immunizations   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Judy Baker, 4/1/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Absolute Waste of Money
My dog has had insurance since she was a puppy. She is now 11. I have paid somewhere around $3,750 in fees since getting my dog's insurance through VPI, now Nationwide. My puppy was recently sick and her bill totaled about $800 dollars for two separate Vet visits. Since both of the visits were in the same 'claim period' my reimbursement was greatly reduced. This plan, that I have been paying on for the last 11 years, only reimbursed me $250.00 in TOTAL. So that leaves me with the remaining $550 Vet bill AND the disgust of knowing that I wasted $3750.00 paid over the last 11 years. Quite honestly, if I had to do this over, I would either choose a totally different provider or, open a 'special' savings for my pup and drop $10 in it each payday. If I had done that I would still have over $2000 in that special "vet" fund for her and I would not have thrown away $3750. AVOID this insurance, major ripoff.
Injury/Illness: Arthritis and UTI   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Cheryl, 2/27/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   I regret being with Nationwide/VPI for 10 years!
I never insured any other pet before this dog, so I have had one insured dog for 10 years. He was just diagnosed with Cushing's disease and Nationwide has an $800.00 annual cap on this disease. We spent more than that just getting to the diagnoses. Now there is zero coverage for any medication or actual treatment of this disease. I am devastated to say the least. If I manage his disease well, he has the potential for many good years ahead. But I've never had a dog with a chronic condition before and here I am in that very position with pet insurance for the first time and I WON'T BE REIMBURSED FOR MOST OF HIS TREATMENT/NEEDS! The company likes to tout that the benefits renew each calendar year but the amount of coverage for his illness is actually less than what the plan will cost me for the year, much less the deductible so I am not better off with the insurance unless he gets sick or injured with something different. The whole reason I insured him in the first place was so I wouldn't have to be paying out of pocket for really big expenses if they happened, and now that is exactly what I'm stuck doing. Of course he now has a pre-existing condition and I am stuck with a company that has completely let us down.
Injury/Illness: Cushing's disease   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Mark, 1/13/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Pre Existing is their famous excuse!!!
Don't get VPI FOR SURE!!!! We had a German Shepherd who was 100% healthy when we got her as a puppy....put her on the highest plan possible and 4 months later ended up getting her fixed. The day after the surgery she all the sudden stopped urinating and was severely blocked in the bladder, moving up into the kidneys. Took her back to the vet, of course, /'f they sent us straight down to GCVS (a specialty hospital that people from all over the US come to for disease, cancer, etc). Luckily it's 45 min from our home, but talk about expensive!!!! Her first 4 days in the hospital cost $4500...including another surgery to relieve blockage. All 3 specialists said that it was NOT caused from the surgery and is so rare that would be normal to be undetected until it actually hit the point she was at. But VPI claimed it was "pre-existing" and wouldn't cover even a single penny! Even after submitting proof of tests and testimonials from all specialtists saying it was not pre-existing...still, not one penny! At this point it was too late to change insurance companies bcuz then it really would be pre-existing. Therefore...after 6 yrs of medical treatment and many hospital stays and surgeries, we've spent over $30,0000 on our dog. Would do it again and again in a heartbeat bcuz she's one of the family BUT ridiculous that we had insurance company that wouldn't lift a finger to help. At all. Never has. By the way VPI...if not being able to urinate was considered pre-existing, common sense has it that she wouldn't have lived. Really?? Didn't know a dog could go 4 months (from the time we signed up with VPI) without peeing...ridiculous excuse if u ask ME! Sadly, we lost our Dakota 3 months ago after battling this rare disease! She died of kidney failure...which the vet agrees they could've possibly found a cure if insurance would've helped and instead used the money out of pocket to use towards research and exotic meds to try. Hmmmm. Prettt sad if u ask me. So now we just got another new puppy (Bentley) who is a 2 month old German Shepherd as well...and as I search for new plans and ask vets for recommendations, almost 100% of them have referred me TO Healthy Paws Insurance... so wish me Luck this time. And I sure hope Bentley is in good hands with them bcuz Poor Dakota was certainly NOT by using VPI. NEVER AGAIN!!!!
Injury/Illness: bladder renal (kidney)   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Christi, 1/12/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   excellent
Thank you VPI for paying in full 2 more claims I submitted 2 weeks ago. I have this insurance for 6 years, and I have been so happy with it. Their customer service is also great when you have to call. So thank you nationwide for paying my claims and for my peace of mind. Keep up the good work
Injury/Illness: ear problem   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Joanne Teschner, 12/31/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Buy this insurance if you love getting scammed.
VPI let me pay into its system for 6 years, from the time Oscar was a puppy, with literally no claims all 6 years. Then, they mysteriously "cancelled" me "and they weren't sure why" when I needed surgery for my 6 year old dog. Then, they would only reinstate me as a new customer with a 6 year old dog, at premiums 3x higher than they were before. Why? Because the lower premiums are reserved for the customers that start their dogs on insurance when they are puppies. ABSOLUTE SCAM. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Boxer
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Trisha Berube, 12/22/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  74  75  76  77  78  79  80  81  82  83  84  85  86  87  88  89  90  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  98  99  100  101  102  103  104  105  106  107  108  109  110  111  112  113  114  115  116  117  118  119  120  121  122  123  124  125  126  127  128  129  130  131  132  133  134  135  136  137  138  139  140  141  142  143  144  145  146  147  148  149  150  151  152  153  154  155  156  157  158  159  160  161  162  163  164  165  166  167  168  169  170  171  172  173  174  175  176  177  178  179  180  181  182  183  184  185  186  187  188  189  190  191  192  193  194  195  196  197  198  199  200  201  202  203  204  205  206  207  208  209  210  211  212  213  214  215  216  217  218  219  220  221  222  223  224  225  226  227  228  229  230  231  232  233  234  235  236  237  238  239  240  241  242  243  244  245  246  247  248  249  250  251  252  253  254  255  256  257  258  259  260  261  262  263  264  265  266  267  268  269  270  271  272  273  274  275  276  277  278  279  280  281  282  283  284  285  286  287  288  289  290  291  292  293  294  295  296  297  298  299  300  301  302  303  304  305  306  307  308  309  310  311  312  313  314  315  316  317  318  319  320  321  322  323  324  325  326  327  328  329  330  331  332  333  334  335  336  337  338  339  340  341  342  343  344  345  346  347  348  349  350  351  352  353  354  355  356  357  358  359  360  361  362  363  364  365  366  367  368  369  370  371  372  373  374  375  376  377  378  379  380  381  382  383  384  385  386  387  388  389  390  391  392  393  394  395  396  397  398  399  400  401  402  403  404  405  406  407  408  409  410  411  412  413  414  415  416  417  418  419  420  421
Visit Website


Review VPI review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close