Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Embrace
Petplan USA
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for VPI

Add a Review

Visit Website

Filter By:    


1/10   Buy this insurance if you love getting scammed.
VPI let me pay into its system for 6 years, from the time Oscar was a puppy, with literally no claims all 6 years. Then, they mysteriously "cancelled" me "and they weren't sure why" when I needed surgery for my 6 year old dog. Then, they would only reinstate me as a new customer with a 6 year old dog, at premiums 3x higher than they were before. Why? Because the lower premiums are reserved for the customers that start their dogs on insurance when they are puppies. ABSOLUTE SCAM. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Boxer
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Trisha Berube, 12/22/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   crooks
I have beeen with VPI for more than 12 years and have seen the service fragmented and go steeply downhill since it became NATIONWIDE. I pay through payroll deduction and have seen major overcharging for example..my total bill is $687.32 and to date this year(with at least 3 more payments to go) I have been charged $744.53!!!!!!! I have contacted them and received many promises but NOTHING IS BEING DONE,I am still being overcharged.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Miniature Pinscher
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
christopher pougunas, 12/9/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   (after 10 yrs) NEVER AGAIN VPI
My (previous) dog for whom I had VPI for 10 years passed on at age 11 1/2 in 2015. Now I've just adopted a new dog, and from my experience, I would never ever consider VPI again. They paid out a low percent of eligible bills, and rejected many valid and necessary vet treatments. Finally, at the end, they paid zero on the euthanasia and cremation of my dear girl. Their problem (aside from greed) is the system of numerically categorizing procedures in ways that aren't realistic according to what is done by the vets and needed by the animals. Even some VPI service people advised me to "change the number" in order to get some reimbursement when it had been rejected. With all the alternative companies now, I don't know why anyone uses VPI. I also don't understand how some people say they were able to receive high percent reimbursements.
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney) During her life, she had various illnesses   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Barb Hock, 12/2/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   VPI (Nation Wide) is Terrible
I have been with this company for almost 10 years, they sometimes pay but not always. So I spend years without submitting a claim, I kept it simply in case of emergencies, but now that my dog is almost 10 and has medical issues they are not covering must of them. When I first got they only had one plan and it covered must every thing, however they stared coming up with different plans to charge more and if you don't keep up with them you end up with less coverage. Unfortunately now I can't go anywhere else and I am stuck paying vet bills and them as well. Last year he went through all of his benefits and didn't even had a medical emergency just for the medications and one or two x rays.
Injury/Illness: heart   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
unhappy, 9/30/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Excellent
I've had VPI for the past 14 years and have never had a problem with them. I took the Superior Plan and it was well worth it. My last visit at Dobson was $509 of which I am getting back $439.00. If there was ever a question of reimbursement, they have been more than glad to work with me and my vet. I would continue to use them.
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney) Liver   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Cheryl, 9/30/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Not there when you need them
Never a claim until my dog became terminally ill. Took him in and he passed away at vet. Nationwide is doing everything possible not to pay demanding years of records before they will review. DO NOT USE NATIONWIDE.
Injury/Illness: heart failure   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
D. Snell, 9/25/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Disappointed
Have been a policy holder for 10 years. Since the takeover by Nationwide, VPI has gone downhill in satisfaction. The deductible used to be once a year and now its for every occurrence. Medications for treatments used to be 90% for all. Now it's $220 maximum. I would leave VPI but other insurers will not accept existing conditions. Nationwide has me by the pocketbook ans won't let go.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Shiba Inu
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Toki Endo, 9/15/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Great and wondrful company to work wih
This group is rally good about answering questions and letting me know what all I need to submit for claims.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: French Bulldog
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Sarah Breyer, 9/8/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  74  75  76  77  78  79  80  81  82  83  84  85  86  87  88  89  90  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  98  99  100  101  102  103  104  105  106  107  108  109  110  111  112  113  114  115  116  117  118  119  120  121  122  123  124  125  126  127  128  129  130  131  132  133  134  135  136  137  138  139  140  141  142  143  144  145  146  147  148  149  150  151  152  153  154  155  156  157  158  159  160  161  162  163  164  165  166  167  168  169  170  171  172  173  174  175  176  177  178  179  180  181  182  183  184  185  186  187  188  189  190  191  192  193  194  195  196  197  198  199  200  201  202  203  204  205  206  207  208  209  210  211  212  213  214  215  216  217  218  219  220  221  222  223  224  225  226  227  228  229  230  231  232  233  234  235  236  237  238  239  240  241  242  243  244  245  246  247  248  249  250  251  252  253  254  255  256  257  258  259  260  261  262  263  264  265  266  267  268  269  270  271  272  273  274  275  276  277  278  279  280  281  282  283  284  285  286  287  288  289  290  291  292  293  294  295  296  297  298  299  300  301  302  303  304  305  306  307  308  309  310  311  312  313  314  315  316  317  318  319  320  321  322  323  324  325  326  327  328  329  330  331  332  333  334  335  336  337  338  339  340  341  342  343  344  345  346  347  348  349  350  351  352  353  354  355  356  357  358  359  360  361  362  363  364  365  366  367  368  369  370  371  372  373  374  375  376  377  378  379  380  381  382  383  384  385  386  387  388  389  390  391  392  393  394  395  396  397  398  399  400  401  402  403  404  405  406  407  408  409  410  411  412  413  414  415  416  417  418  419  420
Visit Website


Review VPI review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close