Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Banfield
The following event have occurred with Banfield in Conroe (19075 I-45): 1. Taking our puppy to a regular schedule appointment ran into traffic and arrived 7 minutes late and they would not see our pet as they stated in the 7 minute time frame there were now 7 ahead of us and we could come back at 4 pm (we are 45 minutes away so this was not an option) 2. On February 12 at 10:45 am our dog sitter called and stated our dog may have ingested Orbit Gum. I placed a call to Banfield and they refused to see her said to take her to the ER. I explained I wanted her just checked out and they still refused. I again explained I have a pet contract and I expected on the purchase of this policy I would have available to me a vet in the event of illness. The tech stated that the vet on duty said she had met her quota of patients for this day and I would have to go to the ER. They did call other Banfield’s (Supposedly) and they would not see her either. We were out of town and had to find a qualified person to take her to the ER. The only thing the ER did which took just a few minutes was run blood work ($125). Banfield should have taken the blood work to determine if she needed to go to the ER. I am more than disappointed with the service we have received through the Banfield programs and would like to discontinue this service.
Injury/Illness: May have eaten Orbit Gum which can kill dogs   Breed: Australian Shepherd
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Holly, 2/13/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Total Rip Off
I would not recommend Banfields Pet Hospital or their vets to anyone. The vets at Banfield have consistently miss diagnosed my dog's problem and prescribed unnecessary treatments and meds. If you think your pet may have a real health concern, you would be better off going to a qualified independent veterinary clinic. If your only concern is general health/vaccines, state or county run facilities are cheaper. Please don't get talked into signing up for their pet Wellness Plan because. as others have mentioned, if you get a "Wellness Plan" it will automatically renew without notification and they will tell you that it can't be canceled. So you're stuck paying for a service that you no longer want or need for the remainder of the renewal term. Banfield is a Total Rip Off and a waist of money.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Leroy Brim, 1/3/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   The customer service sucks.....
I have been a customer for 7 years..My cat had a severe case of gingivitis..after over $300plus payment..I renewed the plan..with a new credit card..I was told I was set up and next thing was to call them on December to make the next appointment. When I called to make my appointment is get a notification that my acct was in collection..Called corporate and they informed me my acct was closed as I made the call..Request to speak with a Supervisor as their office didn't update my card as they said...Nothing was ever sent to me to indicate there was a problem..they closed my acct with 5 months into the plan ..put me in collection for the entire cost of the full year and they refuse to see my cat...so they wanted to charge me for 1w months..only been 5 months into the plan and they didn't want to see my cat...if i needed to speak with the supervisor I had to wait 24-48 hrs..according to them..it was my fault for not knowing my card wasn't updated...it haven't received the phone call from supervisor yet.....what a Shame
Injury/Illness: Severe gingivitis..recommended a $2300 treatment t..got it somewhere else for $300   Breed: American Shorthair
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
S. G., 12/30/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
8/10   It's an ANNUAL wellness plan-be fair to Banfield
Our plan(s) over the years have definitely saved us money (unlimited visits, dental included, annual vaccinations). Yes is is true that we have to pay even if our pet dies and that's because it is an ANMUAL plan that they give us the courtesy of allowing us to pay out. I believe that you can cancel but you would have to then pay the difference of what the actual cost of the services you utilized were (anesthesia for dental, x-rays, dental, vaccines, visits etc) and I know that in our case if we had to pay for the actual services rendered rather than the balance of the year it would have cost substantially more. As far as those who claim the bills are padded, my vet and I always discuss the various options and their costs and in the end the decision IS MINE not the vets.
Injury/Illness: it's a wellness plan not accident or health insurance   Breed: Japanese Chin
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Judi Mkam, 12/27/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Fraudulent use of my credit card. Don't use!
Keep using my credit card with out authorization. I have called and emailed and they refuse to cancel plan and use a card that was not authorized. It was originally used to pay for one visit. Never authorized for a monthly plan. I cancelled credit card but Master Card allows auto pay to continue to a new card number which I know Banfield must know. They are rude and refuse to transfer me to a supervisor. Uncaring and fraudulent. Boycott them. I can't imagine how they treat the poor animals!
Injury/Illness: fraud use of credit card on monthly plan   Breed: German Pointer
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Dianna Phares, 12/21/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Westminster MD
DO NOT USE THIER WELLNESS PLAN. Don't get caught like me. In the second year of the plan, I had to put my Great Dane Down. They wanted to charge me for the unpaid balance of the pervious services. The first bill came to $500, I paid $150 into the plan so far for that year. They tried to charge me $350. I was not aware of that when I signed up. They also did a lot of up selling on services not covered. I will not use their service again. Fool me twice, shame on me.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Great Dane
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Tom Zane, 12/13/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Rechecks are 30.00 not 3.00
I was told over the phone that the recheck for my dog was 3.00 and wve. Tho my dog was already recovered I didn't really needed to go and have her rechecked but they said it was just 3.00 dollars so once I got there they make you do digital signature for the check up. Please don't sighs any before being done.... because they have your signature.... and when they were done checking the dog visually I was ready to check out and change me 30.00 dollars and not 3.00 and threat me if I didn't pay today I was going to be in a collection.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Jdjskks, 12/1/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Warning About Banfield
I have had the Wellness Plan at Banfield for a couple years and have taken our dog there for routine visits, Like most other reviewers, I experienced all the added charges that weren't covered under the plan. Although it was frustrating, that is just the tip of the iceberg as far as my disgust with Banfield. Less than two hours after a "routine" visit for teeth cleaning and physical my dog was crying and obviously uncomfortable. As I was petting him, I felt two large lumps in his neck. I wasn't overly concerned until the following day when my dog wouldn't stop panting. I called Banfield to schedule an appointment to bring him in and was told they had no appointments but I could come in and sit there and they were sure they would be able to see him before the end of the day. I was a bit angered that they assumed it was ok to have me and my dog come sit in the back of the store for anywhere from 1 - 8 hours in hopes of seeing a vet. I called the vet we had previously taken him to and explained the symptoms. They told me I should bring him in as soon as I could. After a brief exam and a couple tests I was informed my dog had late stage lymphoma. Every lymph gland on my dog was severely enlarged and the ones in his neck were so swollen they were putting pressure on his airway. So 3 days after Banfield performed a "complete" physical including blood work my dog went from healthy (according to Banfield) to having 4-6 weeks to live. I contacted Banfield to ask how this could have happened and was told they found no signs of the lymphoma, the blood work was all normal and that cancer can occur quickly in dogs. Three or fours days seems extremely quick to me, does it seem quick to you? I had no intentions of writing anything about this until today after I called to cancel the Banfield Wellness Plan for my dog that I had to have euthanized 2 days ago... less than 4 weeks after I was told by Banfield he was ok. The representative told me it was no problem to cancel the Wellness Plan for my deceased dog as long as I paid $389 for the "routine visit" I took him to 4 weeks ago. Because the routine visit occurred one month after my Wellness Plan had "renewed", I either have to pay the monthly fee for the next 11 months or pay the full balance of what the routine visit would have cost if I had no Wellness Plan. Really??? I can't put in words that are probably allowed in these reviews the anger and disappointment I have towards Banfield and Pet Smart at this moment. I can
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Scott, 11/17/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close