Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Banfield

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Most Cold Hearted company DO NOT USE
Long story short...My 9yr old pug died a traumatic death and when I called to cancel his wellness plan Banfield couldnt have been any more cold hearted. I paid out the wazoo to try to save my pups life and then to have Banfield say pay a ridiculous amount of money to cancel the plan or just let them deduct the monthly fee for a dead dog.... I am disgusted a company can operste like this... My beloved pug has been dead for MONTHS and every month I am reminded of his passong when Banfield continues to charge out account....
Injury/Illness: bladder   Breed: Pug
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Aw, 5/12/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   DON'T GO BANFIELD PET HOSPITALS
What ever you do, DO NOT choose Banfield Pet Hospital to render services, or pay for their plans. They are a total rip off. You are so much better of paying retail than taking it to one of their pet hospitals. The staff is not very knowledgeable, and also when your pet is sick, sometimes they do not have availability to see your pet! So what is the use of having a plan if you can't use it. Plus, there additional fees which the plans don't cover are ridiculously high.
Injury/Illness: ear problem   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Tina, 5/9/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Wellness Plan
Do not sign up for a wellness plan. Banfield is screwing you over. If you try to cancel the plan, they will charge you a large amount. I've only had the plan for a month and went to Banfield once with my dog. Paid for everything out of pocket, except the exam, which was 50ish dollars. When I called to cancel the plan, I was willing to pay that off. But they started charging me other crap. Be careful and don't get tricked.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Katherine, 3/30/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   They say I can't change/cancel plan
Told them not to charge my MasterCard. Prefer to pay by six months. No invoice and charge card or plan change opportunity. Vet agreed with me no need to stress dog out by having teeth cleaned. No need for higher insurance plan. Dog close to 16 years old. When I called insurance company representative was rude. Told her I then wanted to cancel plan. She told me I couldn't do that. Reimbursed me for that month. Today see they now have charged me for three months on my credit card. Have two dogs.
Injury/Illness: Plan change   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Dorothy, 3/22/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Don't bother and DON'T Get a wellness PLAN
RIPOFF - Insurance usually terminates when the patient dies - not Banfield's Wellness Plan -- they look at the services provided and then say - well we provided services in excess of the plan amount - so pay the balance of the plan amount. Only problem is I ended up paying a portion of the services myself - but that is included in the retail value of what they provided - Double dipping and over charging Do I get a refund when services provided are LESS than the plan amount in any year. They CERTAINLY do not point out this little tid bit when you sign up.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Elliot, 3/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Stay away from Banfield Pet Hospitals
If you really love your pet - WARNING!!stay away from Banfield Pet Hospital& Services - They are never available and give minimal poor health care. They constalntly refer you an outside their network vet constantly when they can't figure out what is wrong with your pet. I haven't talked to one pleased pet owner when waiting for an appointment - they all plan on not renewing the services with Banfield. They are only it the business for the money not to keep your pet healthy. Please go to a private vet practice- your pet deserves good care - working with Banfield will delay a diagnosis which might cause the death of your pet.
Injury/Illness: skin problem bladder allergies   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Joh, 3/3/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Banfield
The following event have occurred with Banfield in Conroe (19075 I-45): 1. Taking our puppy to a regular schedule appointment ran into traffic and arrived 7 minutes late and they would not see our pet as they stated in the 7 minute time frame there were now 7 ahead of us and we could come back at 4 pm (we are 45 minutes away so this was not an option) 2. On February 12 at 10:45 am our dog sitter called and stated our dog may have ingested Orbit Gum. I placed a call to Banfield and they refused to see her said to take her to the ER. I explained I wanted her just checked out and they still refused. I again explained I have a pet contract and I expected on the purchase of this policy I would have available to me a vet in the event of illness. The tech stated that the vet on duty said she had met her quota of patients for this day and I would have to go to the ER. They did call other Banfield’s (Supposedly) and they would not see her either. We were out of town and had to find a qualified person to take her to the ER. The only thing the ER did which took just a few minutes was run blood work ($125). Banfield should have taken the blood work to determine if she needed to go to the ER. I am more than disappointed with the service we have received through the Banfield programs and would like to discontinue this service.
Injury/Illness: May have eaten Orbit Gum which can kill dogs   Breed: Australian Shepherd
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Holly, 2/13/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Total Rip Off
I would not recommend Banfields Pet Hospital or their vets to anyone. The vets at Banfield have consistently miss diagnosed my dog's problem and prescribed unnecessary treatments and meds. If you think your pet may have a real health concern, you would be better off going to a qualified independent veterinary clinic. If your only concern is general health/vaccines, state or county run facilities are cheaper. Please don't get talked into signing up for their pet Wellness Plan because. as others have mentioned, if you get a "Wellness Plan" it will automatically renew without notification and they will tell you that it can't be canceled. So you're stuck paying for a service that you no longer want or need for the remainder of the renewal term. Banfield is a Total Rip Off and a waist of money.
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Leroy Brim, 1/3/2017
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55


Review Banfield review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close