Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for HBC

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   VERY SLOW AND A RIP OFF
Pet insurance should not have a deductible! If they want to add a deductible then place one when your bill is over $1000.00! I will never get any money back because they have to use this stupid deductible first and then once its used up then hey pay you out 80%...if THAT is the case...my monthly fee to HBC Pet Insurance should only be $15.00 per month!!!
Injury/Illness: sinus, bites, bad breath, Anxiety   Breed: Chihuahua
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
D, 10/27/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   SLOW SLOW SLOW (Slower than this)
I am an hbc petinsurance since 2013, I always make my payments on time (Never had to use the insurance since September 2014). I had to wait 4 weeks before receiving a confirmation that they had received my claim...I was not reimbursed because it was less than the annual deductible. 2 Weeks ago I sumbitted a claim, and I still did not get any response from them. THEY ARE EXTREMLY SLOW, SLOW SLOW. I have never experienced anything like this before. Anyway, I will change my pet insurance next year, and please do not select this company for your pet if you want a fast and responsive service !!! WORST SERVICE EVER WITH AN INSURANCE COMPANY.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Poodle
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
SAM, 11/28/2014
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Slow and no dental coverage
They are pleasant enough on the phone, but very slow to process claims...Even though they promise to clear claims within 5-7 days. More like a month. I guess it's in the policy fine print, but they didn't cover us for our cat's gingivitis and though they say they cover prescription food, they refused us because it was a dental plan food.
Injury/Illness: gingivitis   Breed: Tabby
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Peter Clements, 4/5/2013
View Comments (3) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   not happy
I have two dogs insured with HBC since spring 2009. Monthly premiums for both are over $60. One of my dogs had never any claim; the other one became diabetic in February 2012. Diabetes is difficult to control but we got it sorted out now. However, since there were a number of bills, related to a couple of emergency vet visits and standards to get the dog regulated (like tests, test equipment, and insulin), the insurance decided now, in November 2012, that we are "high risk" and now they cover only 60% of the costs. I was pretty shocked to find this out - they didn't even send me a letter but just put a document on the website without notifying me. They paid so far less than $2000. The change to 60% coverage means, in every insurance year, they calculate 60% and then subtract the deductible, which is $500 for dog's age 10 and over, and the rest they pay. That means with the first $1000 vet bills in an insurance year, they pay only $100 ($600-$500 deductible) and after that 60%. I knew they make arbitrary decisions like that but thought it would be at a much higher level of expenditure. I tried beforehand to find out when they change the coverage to 60% but never could get any answer from them. Well, now I know. I find this kind of policy should be prohibited by law. Furthermore, they have since a couple of months problems with their claims handling. It is a lot of confusion there. I still have claims unprocessed after over a month. Overall, I would say it's not worth it
Injury/Illness: diabetic   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
CiCi, 11/25/2012
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Our Puppy Died
When we got our puppy, Barkley, she seemed healthy and happy but within a few months, she seemed lethargic and showed signs of sickness. After a couple of vet appointments and tests, found out her kidneys were diseased and failing (all before 5 months of age). She spent one day and night in the vet hospital and the bill for everything was around $3000. We paid about $1000 and the rest was covered. The $1000 was for the deductible and co-insurance but we had chosen a policy with a very small premium so we were happy with what we had to pay. We received compensation very quickly as well as a sympathy card. It was the most devastating time of our lives but HBC pet insurance handled everything professionally and with sympathy. Would definitely use HBC again.
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney)   Breed: Pomeranian
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Corinne Herringer, 5/5/2011
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   so far so good...
We got our puppy insured a couple of weeks after buying him. There is a two week waiting period for illness, and we fortunately fell within that time frame. The insurance was handled in a timely manner, the people taking the calls were friendly and helpful and followed up on their promises in a punctual manner. We had our cheque within 3 weeks of filing two claims. They covered what the policy stated and I am at this point, very satisfied with this company. It took me a while to decide on which company to go with, and I do believe that I made a good choice.
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea bladder   Breed: Rottweiler
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Alena Ruta, 12/7/2010
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 


Review HBC review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close