Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for Petsecure

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   They're Great When You Don't Need Them
I've used Petsecure for two dogs the past 8 years. My first dog was healthy and I had no claims for just under 5 years of his life. A month before he turned 5 he developed cancer that couldn't be treated and Petsecure paid according to our agreement to keep our dog comfortable during his last days and to cremate him. I was satisfied so when we got our next dog we of course signed on again. Unfortunately our new dog has ongoing issues and has needed a fair bit of help (under the $5000 range though) My premiums have gone up and my payouts have gone from 80% down to 60% and will likely drop to 50% in the near future. Total crap and I also wish I had just saved money in an account instead of using them. And that's exactly what I have been doing with my third dog who is just over 2. I've saved approximately $2000 so far so if something were to happen I could at least manage. Never again will i recommend Petsecure to anyone. They are also extremely slow at paying and often omit items until you call in and then they decide they will pay for them. Watch your invoices closely.
Injury/Illness: multiple   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Anonymous For Fear Of Reprisal, 7/7/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Fantastic
We have been clients for 21 years & have always received exemplary service. Recently our 16 year old kitty had her benefits reduced to 50%. We appealed this decision & were pleased to learn within 48 hours of a reinstatement to her previous 70%. The Claims Review team should be commended for this prompt decision & also we wish to thank Carolyn Baker for commencing the review process for us.
Injury/Illness: seizures   Breed: Domestic Mediumhair
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Lee Turner, 6/7/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   80% down to 50% coverage
I looked at reviews and asked them about this and I was told it was very rare for it to go down to 50% and it would only happen if someone were to submit $10,000 or more in claims for one issue. We of course we have not come close to that. We just got our letter saying it would drop to 50% coverage for everything. I am quite angry about this. She said it could go up again in 6 months. Our dog had a liver surgery and for $5000.00. We pay 42.00 a month + the 300.00 deposit which is 804.00 before we'd see anything. I'm not so sure this is worth it. I am giving it a 3 because they lied.
Injury/Illness: Liver shunt   Breed: Pug
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Jacqueline, 6/1/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Beware, you claim, they reduce their coverage
As soon as you start to use the insurance they will reduce their co-pay. so although they claim that the high premiums you pay will cover your pet for $5000. per condition, per year for 80%, they reduce your coverage to 50%. At the time of the first change to our coverage our pet was 5 years old and had just reached $5000.00 for ALL claims. They increase your premiums and increase your deductible. Simply put, they do not honour your original contract. They also take longer to pay claims then what they advertise.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
SB, 5/30/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Rip-off artists!!
Paid them for years and the they only covered $270.of a $1000. claim. Would have done much better putting the premium in a savings account.
Injury/Illness: Pancreatitis   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Dwight Grant, 5/14/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Took money out of our account we didn't agree to
They are continually mixing up the dates we've supplied for direct deposit. We've tried to get them to take the money out for both dogs the same day but they seem incapable of doing that (they were insured at different times). We're on a fixed income and only get paid once a month so our insurance schedule needs to be on target.
Injury/Illness: Complaint not about claim   Breed: Australian Shepherd
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Jeff, 5/1/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Worst Insurance Provider Out There
I work in the veterinary industry and regularly steer my clients AWAY from this company. They have terrible customer service, continually penalize clients for submitting claims by reducing co-insurance or increasing deductibles. Its almost criminal because once you've signed up and had a claim you are stuck with them, and they know you wont be able to go elsewhere and get coverage because of "pre-existing conditions". Do your research! Stay away!!!!
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Angela, 4/26/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   Horrible Company
Horrible, horrible company. I have a one year old French Bulldog puppy. When my dog was about 4 months she was bit by a tick on her face. I went to my vet and she examined the bite and prescribed me revolution so I can protect my dog from getting future ticks. The bite over next few days got even worse. So I came back to the vet again and she said don't worry it usually gets worse before it gets better. A week passed by and the bit was not getting any better. I visited my vet again and now the vet told me that I needed to do emergency day surgery on my puppy. After the procedure the vet charged me almost $800, and they recommended me to purchase puppy insurance. I thought that was a good idea as that day surgery my dog had would have been covered. So I did a lot of research and chose Pet Secure. Signed up for the best insurance that was supposed to be the most comprehensive without any exclusions. A few months passed by and I discovered my dog broke out in hives after changing over some of her food. I went to my vet to see what was going on and she said your puppy might have allergies. So we performed an allergy test for my dog which cost another $500. I found out my puppy is allergic to so many things as the French Bulldog breed is very sensitive. I processed my claim through Pet Secure feeling confident that I had amazing pet insurance that would cover any issues I have. That was not the case. The insurance company concluded that when my dog was bit by the tick she was scratching behind her ear therefore the allergies must have been present at that particular time. How does a tick have anything to do with allergies???? Obviously a dog cant choose where she is going to scratch; she is trying to scratch the huge cyst on her face from the tick but is also getting parts of her ear and other areas surrounding the eyes and such. It took me literally 4 months going back and forth with their vets talking to my vet. My vet told them that there were NO signs of allergies at the time of the bite from the tick. The insurance company would tell me they would follow up with me in a day or two and they would never call me. I would waste my precious time calling them and they not having any answers for me. As a pet owner how am I to know that if something actually serious happens to my dog that they are in fact going to cover the issue? If they are arguing over a $500 bill I cant see them covering a hip replacement that costs thousands of dollars.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: French Bulldog
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Gracjana, 4/8/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24


Review Petsecure review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close