Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for PetPlan

Add a Review

Visit Website

Filter By:    


10/10   Having pet insurance saved Ellie's life.
My Lab/Border Collie mix Ellie May came with 3 months of pet insurance from Petplan when I adopted her from the SPCA. I decided to keep the insurance since I have had experience with expensive vet bills in the past. This was the best decision I ever made! Earlier this year Ellie began throwing up and a trip to the vet detected a mass in her stomach which looked like cancer and it showed signs of spreading to her intestines. I was referred to the Specialty Hospital and was given hope it might be a pancreatic abscess which is very serious but better than cancer. After almost a week of IV fluids and antibiotics she was holding her own but there was no change in the mass and she had lost about 13lbs. Surgery was done to remove the mass which ended up being in her stomach and even the surgeon thought it was cancer. They took over half of her stomach out and came very close to pyloric sphincter (where the stomach empties out). There were not sure if she would be able to eat or not after surgery. The pathology came back and NO CANCER and Ellie has completely recovered from the surgery. She will be on some oral medications long term to help her stomach handle food better but she is doing fine and has gained back 3 lbs. I maxed out my policy -$10,000 and Petplan paid the $10,000 without any questions. I would not have been able to pay for her care if it had not been for Petplan - they really did save her life!
Injury/Illness: Stomach mass   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Dana Eves, 5/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Thank you Pet Plan
Recently had to "use" our PetPlan insurance... Karmella (4 y.o. pittie) began vomitting and as the night progressed there was blood in the vomit...I got her to the ER Vet and she was diagnosed with Hemmed Gastroenteritis (HGE)... she was sent home w me but w in 24+ hrs would not eat or drink for me so back to the ER we went...she had to stay overnight and then was able to come home...it's been a long 2 weeks w more vet visits along the way... thankfully for PetPlan it took some of the pressure off... their customer service is beyond helpful and I received a phone call from on of the reps yesterday about my claims and to check on Karmella...how nice of them!!!!
Injury/Illness: gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea   Breed: American Staffordshire Terrier
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Michelle N., 5/20/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Pet Plan Comes Through Again
This is the second time that Pet Plan has come through for me and my family when it came to a major vet bill for my dog, Bonnie. The first time was for back surgery($10k bill) and jus this past week, $1700 for a fox tail that got stuck up my dog's nose. Their web interface is easy to use and the claims process was smooth. Mark, the customer service rep was very helpful and followed up with the vet to get the doctor's notes needed for completing the claim. Would recommend them to anyone looking for pet insurance (Which I recommend). Don't wait until it's too late
Injury/Illness: Fox tail in nose   Breed: Cardigan Corgis
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Paul, 5/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Grateful for PetPlan
I have used PetPlan for many years for multiple pets. My German Shepherd Dog developed epilepsy at age 2 and I don't know what we would have done without our insurance. After a year of tests and multiple visits to a neurologist we have finally found medications that appear to be working to control her seizures. But it's a long road with ongoing costs - PetPlan makes it possible for us to provide the best possible support to this young and vibrant dog. My 17 year old Siamese cat suffers from asthma, thyroid issues and high blood pressure. But I am secure in knowing that my insurance will help me pay for everything he needs in his geriatric years. They pay as their plan promises and process everything very quickly and easily. Years ago I used a different company and had to fight for every claim. PetPlan is a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend them.
Injury/Illness: Epilepsy   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Beverly Kurtz, 5/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Best Decision Ever!
Honestly, signing up with PetPlan has been such a blessing. When I first got her I just had a feeling that something would happen in the future where I'd be stressed about vet bills. PetPlan has been very responsive and quick with replies. They even called just to see how Luna was doing after her surgery. Getting pet insurance is one of the best things I've done for my dog. Thank you!!
Injury/Illness: Luxating Patella   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Patricia Pena, 5/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Amazing Catherine Quindlen
I spoke with Catherine on 13 May 2017. She was incredibly caring, empathetic, kind, genuine, diligent, patient, thorough, warm, and professional. She very quickly guided me through the process of claim filing and checking on the status of a filed claim. I had a plethora of questions, but she took her time to address each one-all with a smile over the phone!! Her caring spirit about my sick kitties was evident-even over the phone, and, when you're facing the health crises of your beloved fur babies, that empathy and genuine caring and warmth really helps to provide comfort to the fur parents!! I can't thank Catherine enough for her expertise and for her offering to me to call her directly with any questions!! Now that is true, unparalleled, uncommon customer service which will forever be appreciated by me and my fur babies (my ragdoll kitties: Miss Tristan and Miss Avery). My deepest thanks to Catherine and to all the other wonderful folks at PetPlan!! You are ALL the most outstanding, caring, genuine customer service professionals with whom I've ever dealt!! take care, keep up the awesome work, and blessings to you all!!
Injury/Illness: ear infections   Breed: Ragdoll
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Nicole, 5/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Couldn't Ask For Better Service!!
I have two dogs covered with PetPlan. I had two separate events and each was taken care of right away. Dan Mason called me back to tell me my two claims were processed a few minutes after I got off the phone. He even told me the amounts of the checks that will be sent. That is expert service!! One of my dogs has kidney disease and it's for the rest of her life. With PetPlan I can give her all the care she needs and deserves. We would never own a pet without pet insurance..... PetPlan!!!!
Injury/Illness: renal (kidney)   Breed: Sheltie
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Dave and Cathy Herndon, 5/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Amazing!
Petplan is so responsive every time I have had contact with you. I recommend you to every pet owner I know. I would particularly single out EMILY BRIGGS - kudos! She has unfailingly beenhelpful to me and my purrsons. She is an asset to Petplan, and I am grateful to have "found" her as a Happiness Manager. She puts a smile on my face each time I am fortunate enough to have her pick up the phone!!
Injury/Illness: cancer   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Nina, 5/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  74  75  76  77  78  79  80  81  82  83  84  85  86  87  88  89  90  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  98  99  100  101  102  103  104  105  106  107  108  109  110  111  112  113  114  115  116  117  118  119  120  121  122  123  124  125  126  127  128  129  130  131  132  133  134  135  136  137  138  139  140  141  142  143  144  145  146  147  148  149  150  151  152  153  154  155  156  157  158  159  160  161  162  163  164  165  166  167  168  169  170  171  172  173  174  175  176  177  178  179  180  181  182  183  184  185  186  187  188  189  190  191  192  193  194  195  196  197  198  199  200  201  202  203  204  205  206  207  208  209  210  211  212  213  214  215  216  217  218  219  220  221  222  223  224  225  226  227  228  229  230  231  232  233  234  235  236  237  238  239  240  241  242  243  244  245  246  247  248  249  250  251  252  253  254  255  256  257  258  259  260  261  262  263  264  265  266  267  268  269  270  271  272  273  274  275  276  277  278  279  280  281  282  283  284  285  286  287  288  289  290  291  292  293  294  295  296  297  298  299  300  301  302  303  304  305  306  307  308  309  310  311  312  313  314  315  316  317  318  319  320  321  322  323  324  325  326  327  328  329  330  331  332  333  334  335  336  337  338  339  340  341  342  343  344  345  346  347  348  349  350  351  352  353  354  355  356  357  358  359  360  361  362  363  364  365  366  367  368  369  370  371  372  373  374  375  376  377  378  379  380  381  382  383  384  385  386  387  388  389  390  391  392  393  394  395  396  397  398  399  400  401  402  403  404  405  406  407  408  409  410  411  412  413  414  415  416  417  418  419  420  421  422  423  424  425  426  427  428  429  430  431  432  433  434  435  436  437  438  439  440  441  442  443  444  445  446  447  448  449  450  451  452  453  454  455  456  457  458  459  460  461  462  463  464  465  466  467  468  469  470  471  472  473  474  475  476  477  478  479  480  481  482  483  484  485  486  487  488  489  490  491
Visit Website


Review PetPlan review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close