Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for PetPlan

Add a Review

Visit Website

Filter By:    


10/10   Best Pet Insurance available!
We have had our Golden Retriever with Pet Plans for about 5 years now. He had an event before we obtained Insurance that cost us about $10,000 dollars. Afetr that event, we decided that we needed to get help paying for emergency care. Pet Plans is affordable and has paid every bill we have submitted for emergency care. They pay promptly and are awesome to work with. I would recommend them to everyone with animals! Thanks Pet Plans!!
Injury/Illness: ear problem   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Tammy Ahlers, 12/27/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Glad I picked the right insurance company for my d
My dog was diagnosed with dry eye approximately 1year ago. After going to an ophthalmologist and on a regimine of many eyes medications for almost a year I was told he would need surgery. Between the stress of my dog needing surgery and his not feeling well it was great feeling to not have problems with his insurance company denying his bills. I was very pleased with the timely manner in which I was reimbursed, and how caring the representatives were when I called Pet Plan. I really felt they cared how my little guy was! Its also nice to know when you finally use the insurance they dont raise your rates due to submitting a claim.
Injury/Illness: eye problem   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Jane Quiroga, 12/26/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Thank you, PetPlan!
Our 12 year old terrier mix tore her Cranial Cruciate Ligament chasing a squirrel. A visit to the orthopedic surgeon confirmed the need for surgery. It was such a relief to know that PetPlan would be there to help us pay the cost. She's now recovering very nicely and promises to let the squirrels get away! This is our second excellent experience with PetPlan who, for the past 2 years, has been helping us pay the bills to manage Winnie's diabetes. We rescued her 11 years ago and she deserves the best that life can give! Thanks, PetPlan!
Injury/Illness: Orthopedic injury   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Lynn Plait, 12/25/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Petplan is very supportive and easy to work with
Our 7 year old Golden Retriever, Java, has had two bad knees or ACL tears and needed surgery on both a year apart. Petplan was a savior. We submitted a pre authorization and they followed through with exactly what they said they would. In addition, we got a telephone call asking about his condition and suggesting that they would be glad to cover any rehabilitation if necessary. Very reliable and nice to work with
Injury/Illness: orthopedic acl tears   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Kathy Newman, 12/23/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Best Decision You Can Make
PetPlan Insurance is one of the best decisions I made for my long haired Dachshund, Rosie. When she became ill in November with a strange form of anemia I was able to make decisions based on what was best for her rather than worrying about how I was going to pay for her treatment. While waiting for the bone marrow biopsy results, they discovered the right side of her heart was not functioning. This unfortunately led to a stroke that was unrecoverable. I can't tell you how much I've cried over her loss, but one thing I can tell you is that PetPlan was compassionate and caring. They paid out the claim in less than 2 weeks. If I get the courage to have another dog, Petplan will be my first purchase on her behalf. Pass up the starbucks a couple of times a week and you'll have peace of mind. It is so totally worth it.
Injury/Illness: Anemia/heart   Breed: Dachshund
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Leah Rakowsky, 12/22/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Huge sense of relief and excellent service
We recently adopted a labradoodle puppy (age 5 months) who just grew his big boy teeth and LOVES to use them. One late night we notice he couldn't get comfortable and hadn't seen him potty. While I was outside walking him around in the yard, I noticed a hard plastic Frisbee absolutely shredded into a million sharp pieces. I knew what the problem was and said to my husband let's go to the ER vet right away. We would have gone either way but knowing we had insurance made the decision that much easier. He is doing fine and ended up passing the pieces naturally but needed IV fluids and two sets of X-rays. The $1,100 was a tough pill to swallow ESPECIALLY around the holidays and all in all, we were only responsible for $250. Moreover, I called PetPlan at 10:30 at night to ask them how to get ahead of the game and they instructed me on filing the claim through the app and then having the claim expedited. Claim was processed 3 days after the incident! We LOVE PetPlan!
Injury/Illness: Possible Bowel Obstruction   Breed: Labradoodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: under a year
Laura E., 12/16/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
3/10   Big Changes!
I have had PetPlan insurance on my Lab for seven years and have been very happy with their coverage for the several claims I have made. No complaints at all. HOWEVER, with two months to go until time for me to renew I get a letter stating that their underwriter (AGCS Marine) has exited the pet insurance market and they are "excited to announce" that they are now partnering with XL Specialty. And they are "so sorry" that this MAY mean a steep rate increase. Boy does it ever!!! To get the same coverage I've been getting, my premium has more than doubled! AND, this company who promised that they would never base a premium on previous claims...tells me that because I have made claims for three different conditions, I don't qualify for their great new offer of an annual deductible instead of a per condition deductible. Obviously with a seven year old dog I am stuck with this company unless I want to deal with all the pre-existing conditions I'll face in making a change. So yeah, PetPlan is a great company if you want to pay through the nose for their coverage but I will NEVER insure another dog with them or recommend them (as I have many times) to friends and neighbors.
Injury/Illness: TPLO surgery, endoscopy, DJD   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Anne Beal, 12/16/2016
View Comments (2) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  74  75  76  77  78  79  80  81  82  83  84  85  86  87  88  89  90  91  92  93  94  95  96  97  98  99  100  101  102  103  104  105  106  107  108  109  110  111  112  113  114  115  116  117  118  119  120  121  122  123  124  125  126  127  128  129  130  131  132  133  134  135  136  137  138  139  140  141  142  143  144  145  146  147  148  149  150  151  152  153  154  155  156  157  158  159  160  161  162  163  164  165  166  167  168  169  170  171  172  173  174  175  176  177  178  179  180  181  182  183  184  185  186  187  188  189  190  191  192  193  194  195  196  197  198  199  200  201  202  203  204  205  206  207  208  209  210  211  212  213  214  215  216  217  218  219  220  221  222  223  224  225  226  227  228  229  230  231  232  233  234  235  236  237  238  239  240  241  242  243  244  245  246  247  248  249  250  251  252  253  254  255  256  257  258  259  260  261  262  263  264  265  266  267  268  269  270  271  272  273  274  275  276  277  278  279  280  281  282  283  284  285  286  287  288  289  290  291  292  293  294  295  296  297  298  299  300  301  302  303  304  305  306  307  308  309  310  311  312  313  314  315  316  317  318  319  320  321  322  323  324  325  326  327  328  329  330  331  332  333  334  335  336  337  338  339  340  341  342  343  344  345  346  347  348  349  350  351  352  353  354  355  356  357  358  359  360  361  362  363  364  365  366  367  368  369  370  371  372  373  374  375  376  377  378  379  380  381  382  383  384  385  386  387  388  389  390  391  392  393  394  395  396  397  398  399  400  401  402  403  404  405  406  407  408  409  410  411  412  413  414  415  416  417  418  419  420  421  422  423  424  425  426  427  428  429  430  431  432  433  434  435  436  437  438  439  440  441  442  443  444  445  446  447  448  449  450  451  452  453  454  455  456  457  458  459  460  461  462  463  464  465  466  467
Visit Website


Review PetPlan review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close