Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Trupanion
Petplan USA
Embrace
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for AKC

Add a Review


Filter By:    


10/10   Amy rocks!
We just adopted a new dog as company for our female Boxer. Online I was approved for new dog Baxter. Then I had a question so phoned Customer Service. Amy answered my call and boy did she help me. She added Baxter to the Boxer's existing policy saving me 5%! She was able to give me info on existing claims including the reimbursement down to the penny. For every question Amy found an answer. When I phone any customer service I look for what I call the 3 P's - Pleasant, Professional and Polite. Amy has these qualities by the bucketsful. In fact, every time I have phoned AKC Insurance I have received excellent service. Thank you AKC Pet Insurance for selling a reliable product and short turn around time processing claims. We have been with you for years. I have recommended several people to check you out. All y'all rock!
Injury/Illness: DNA   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Dusti Sparks, 3/17/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
10/10   Rosa is wonderful!
My husband and I had trouble with our credit card being compromised and our payment was over due. First time in a year I saw the amount we were paying too. I had called to pay the over due, as well as, ask for a different coverage, that was more suitable to my pet's needs and our finances. Rosa was not only understanding, accommodating and efficient in helping with my questions and concerns, she was friendly, sweet and an overall pleasure to speak with. I hope to speak with Rosa again, next time I may have to call. :)
Injury/Illness: Payment/policy change   Breed: Shih Tzu
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Jessica Perito, 3/11/2017
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Very Satisfied Sheltie Mom
The experiences I have had with AKC insurance is a Godsend for sure. We went through many thousands of dollars trying to save our Sheltie from cancer in 2012 and did not have insurance. When we got our new dog we immediately signed up and now have another dog and did the same. The representatives are always so kind and helpful when you call with questions and always eager to assist. This is an expense that I do not mind paying at all. Peace of mind has no price.
Injury/Illness: One injured back leg / lost one back toenail   Breed: Sheltie
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Gail Kindle, 12/28/2016
View Comments (1) & insurer reply | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
4/10   Frustrating and Costly
We started with AKC Insurance when our dog was a pup. Premiums were reasonable, just over $30 a month for sick coverage only. Around age 3-4 she had some health issues and claims that were covered reasonably, though never near what we were paying the vets in a metro area. Even though our dog had very few claims after that and was quite healthy, the rates more than doubled when she turned 7, then doubled again at age 10 (AKC told us this is normal), and finally increased to over $2,000 this past March (and this does NOT include wellness care!!). Everyone else we've talked to with pet insurance is shocked at what we are paying. Since our dog has been quite healthy for most of her life, we considered dropping the insurance this year just before she turned 12. In May she developed a neurological condition and we were glad we still had insurance, however, it recently took four months for $3,500 in costs to be processed and paid at just over $2,000. Because of the number of calls, faxes and communications required of my vet to process the claims, my vet has had to charge us separately for her administrative time. She believes the insurance company seem to be trying to avoid or delay paying on claims. And she finds AKC to be the most difficult insurance company to deal with. Furthermore, we've discovered that any condition a pet has is limited to a $3,000 lifetime incidence limit!! Be sure to read the fine print in the policy. There are many exclusions and limits that you wouldn't expect. Premiums are going up and coverage is going down. And the claims process has become quite time consuming and frustrating.
Injury/Illness: neuralogical deficit   Breed: Poodle
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Diana, 12/5/2016
View Comments (1) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Absolutely the best customer service every time!!
We have two 7 1/2 month old Yorkies and have had Wellness Insurance for them since the day we got them. Its has been such a big help!! Reimbursements come back so quickly after the claim is filed and when something is not covered They have an explanation of benefits that reminds you of your coverage. I've had to call several times for different reason and I've never had to deal with anyone giving attitude or getting frustrated when I ask questions even if they seem silly. I forgot to update my Debit card info with them when I received a new one. I received an email and called immediately to update, even then they were completely understanding and helpful!
Injury/Illness: Wellness Exams/Vaccines   Breed: Yorkshire Terrier
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: under a year
Becky Rosas, 12/2/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   AKC is not only an insurance company, they care
To all pet owners we would recommend getting AKC insurance. We have been very please the way everything was taking care off by AKC. They sent us a card when our pup was sick and many of our bills were reduced after our pup's passing. Thank again for caring
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Saint Bernard
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
manou, 11/25/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
10/10   Wonderful Customer Service
I had some questions about what is covered on my policy, the specialist was very nice in answering all my questions and understood my concerns.
Injury/Illness: Heart   Breed: Rottweiler
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Elena, 9/30/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
9/10   Discount for extra dogs -- this is good
I have AKC Pet Insurance for my 8 yr. old German Shepherd Dog and we're getting a puppy. I contacted PetPartners to see if there was a discount for extra pets. There is. My puppy is now covered. I've had this insurance for 8 years and I am very satisfied. It gets more expensive as the pet ages, but the coverage really is very good. I have a wellness plan that covers routine care as well as illnesses.
Injury/Illness: wellness visits, immunizations   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Diane, 9/23/2016
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27


Review AKC review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close