Pet Insurance Review - compare rates & benefits  
  Home | Blog | About | For Vets | Resources | Contact  


Browse:
Pet Insurance 101
Dog Insurance
Cat Insurance
Canada Dog Insurance
Canada Cat Insurance

How To:
Get Quotes
Select an Insurer
Make a Claim
Save Money

Find Vets

US Pet Insurers
Healthy Paws
Embrace
Petplan USA
Trupanion
Pets Best
ASPCA
 Petfirst
Nationwide
VPI
 Petfirst
AKC
PetPartners
24PetWatch
PetPremium
VetCare Health
Figo

Canada Pet Insurers
Pets Plus Us
Petplan
Trupanion
Petsecure
PetCare
PC Financial
Hbc
 Petfirst Healthcare

Other Options
Pet Assure
Banfield
PetSmart
PETCO
United Pet Care

Breeds

UK Pet Insurance

Privacy


Customer Reviews for 24 Pet Watch

Add a Review


Filter By:    


1/10   Unhelpful
We adopted an already ill dog, and when the shelter offered us the 24PetWatch trial, we figured why not keep her covered? It is impossible to file a claim online, everything must be faxed, and beyond that 24 expects you, the owner, to obtain medical documents instead of just having the vet fax the claim. I have filed four claims now and all of them have timed out. The alert e-mails do not even explain what documents you're missing—or for that matter, why your claim is being rejected at all. We're exhausted and are cancelling out of sheer irritation.
Injury/Illness: skin problem   Breed: German Shepherd
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
M Phillips, 5/19/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
 
1/10   Scam
My dog was chipped and registered with 24PetWatch before I adopted her. When I moved, I called the company to update my address and was told that I'd need to pay to do so and pay a yearly charge thereafter to keep her chip activated with the company. I asked several times if that's what I was understanding and was told yes, I'd have to pay either yearly or something like $76 once to keep my dog's chip registered for life. All because I want to change my address?? No. I checked with my vet, who assured me that should not be the case. I took it upon myself to change the company her chip is registered with (to HomeAgain) for NO yearly fee! As it should be!
Injury/Illness: change in address   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Emily, 5/16/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
7/10   Worth It
I've had my dogs covered for a few years now. Prior to last month the premium was VERY reasonably priced, coverage was ok, but the claims took forever to process. Recently, the premiums have increased, but are still lowest in the industry for my area. The claim process has been greatly streamlined, they are communicative and have increased the coverage reimbursement. Definitely worth it for me.
Injury/Illness: skin problem thyroid   Breed: Pit Bull
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Allison T., 5/4/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   OUTRAGEOUS increase premium 100%
When this insurance was Purina, it was awesome, then along came 24 Pet watch and it has steadily gone down the tube. I have 2 dogs and now premium is over $200.00 a year....24 Pet Watch and I will part company...they don't pay worth crap anymore..always an excuse as to why. last claim was denied due to timely submission but clinic had record it was submitted the same day I had one of my boys in for a check up. At this price I can forgo insurance. I would suggest you take your pocket book and run..run fast. They must think they offering us gold at the prices they want.... Please when they do pay...it is so slow.. Interesting, I can't submit my review unless I fill in the time it took to handle claim which they didnt
Injury/Illness: annual and I didn't get paid..   Breed: Mixed Breed
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Reland, 5/1/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
2/10   Premiums more than doubled for same plan
I have been with this company for over 9 years with my pets and had been very happy. That was until the past six months. For the first time we had problems with them paying claims, and then all of a sudden our plan premium more than doubled for each pet. And yes when I tried changing the policy to make it more affordable, I was told it would cause previous issues to become pre-existing! I can understand small increases, but more than double. I was paying about $100 for my two goldens per month with top of the line plans, now it is almost $250. Sorry but I am looking for s new carrier.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: $500 - $1000   Age of Pet: over 8 years
LCM, 4/7/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
1/10   DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!
I have used this company to insure my bichon for 6 years. I figure I have paid them over $3000. They have paid me maybe $300 on medical bills in the past 6 years. Recently my dog had to have a procedure for a corneal indolent ulcer. My estimate for and final paid bill from the eye doctor was answered when they cancelled my insurance! I was never sent a letter telling me to renew my insurance when they sold out to another underwriter, even though they told me I was sent emails and letters. My husband and I did a search on our computer and the letters they sent were not found. I keep everything they send me and found nothing. When I called to tell them this they said that I had told them I did not want emails sent and that they had no control over the mail. I obviously caught them in a lie when they told me I was sent a previous email. They refused to help me any further!
Injury/Illness: eye problem   Breed: Bichon Frise
Claim Amount: $100 - $500   Age of Pet: over 8 years
April Klein, 3/22/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
7/10   My dog is Pre Approved for Surgery this week
My 7 year old Golden Retriever needs surgery on both legs due to ruptured cruciate ligaments in both legs. Estimated cost around $8,000. So far, I have talked to the insurance representatives at least five times and each time they were very helpful. Do not understand the reviews of long telephone answer times as my calls were all taken within two to three minutes. The surgeon submitted the information required for Pre-Authorization and I received back the authorization within 24 hours by email And by the way, their new email portal allows you to submit claims on line without the vets signature--just upload the claim for with the paid bill. (I was a Purina customer before they sold to 24 PetWatch but never had a claim) I will say it has been my experience with insurance companies that some people do not submit all documents required and some do not read the terms of the policy until there is an occurrence and are mad that the illness is not covered but it was spelled out in the policy. This would definitely resolve some problems. That being said, my dogs first surgery is this Thursday and that will be the proof of the pudding if I get paid in a timely manner. I did note that i just got my insurance renewal and the premium tripled--not sure why as the renewal came before they knew my dog needed surgery. Maybe when he turned 7? The administrators also changed the underlying insurance company.
Injury/Illness: Ruptured cruciate ligaments   Breed: Golden Retriever
Claim Amount: over $1000   Age of Pet: 1 - 8
Joel, 3/13/2017
Comment on this Review | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
5/10   Tripled rates at end of my dog's life.
I had pet insurance with this company for 13 years. They sold out to a different company and tripled my rate. My Lab is almost 14 years old. There's no way I'm paying triple what I have paid over 13 years. No more pet insurance for us! No other companies will cover a senior pet.
Injury/Illness: not sure   Breed: Labrador Retriever
Claim Amount: under $100   Age of Pet: over 8 years
Donna, 3/13/2017
View Comments (2) | permalink

Was this review helpful to you?      
 
Pages >    1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42  43  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60


Review 24 Pet Watch review policy

Review Title (if you could say it in one sentence, what would you say?)
Your Review (tips)
DO tell us specifics about your pet's illness or injury
DO tell us whether you were happy with how your claim was handled

DON'T use profanity or personal insults
DON'T write in ALL CAPS
Overall Rating (1 - worst, 10 - best)    
Would you recommend this company to other pet owners?
Yes   No
Your Name
State/Province

Tell us about your pet
Type: Dog     Cat
Breed:  
Age (at the time of your claim):   Under a year   1 - 8   Over 8 years  
 
Tell us about your claim
Type of illness or accident:
not sure
ear problem eye problem skin problem
cancer gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea
bladder renal (kidney) thyroid
other:
Claim amount
Time taken to handle claim
 
Verify that you are a customer
I certify that I am (or was) a customer of this pet insurance company and that I have not been offered a reward, financial or otherwise, by the insurer for writing this review.
 

We have zero tolerance for fake reviews!

A message to pet insurance management: please do not submit a review! We consider these submissions fraudulent and will immediately remove these from our site.

While we support your efforts to encourage honest feedback from customers, we encourage you to submit information here







  Click here to get free pet insurance quotes from competing companies.       close